AGE OF AUGUSTUS: GRS 315

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "AGE OF AUGUSTUS: GRS 315"

Transcription

1 Instructor: Professor Josiah E. Davis Location: Clearihue (CLE) A201 Time: TWF: 11:30-12:20 Office: Clearihue (CLE) B428 Office Hours: Wednesday 3-5 Description: AGE OF AUGUSTUS: GRS 315 The Age of Augustus focuses on the literature, culture, and monuments of a period in Roman society linked forever with one man: the emperor Caius Iulius Caesar Augustus (63BC-14AD). Augustus himself is responsible for remaking the Roman state, but the literature and art testify to an ongoing dialogue within society that actively constructed a new Roman identity. The period is undoubtedly the most productive in terms of Roman poetry, and is commonly referred to as the Golden Age of Latin literature. We will cover a broad spectrum of the epic, elegy, lyric, and didactic poetry of this era, paying particular attention to issues of genre, sexuality, and power in these works. We will approach these texts not as mere representatives of a culture, but as actively constructing their readers as participants in the continual process of founding and re-founding Roman identity through the power of language. Texts: Propertius: The Poems. Oxford World Classics. Trans. Guy Lee Ovid: The Erotic Poems. Penguin Classics. Trans. Peter Green Ovid: Metamorphoses. Penguin Classics. Trans. David Raeburn Ovid's Fasti: Roman Holidays. Trans. Betty Rose Nagle I will put supplementary material on the Moodle site every week. You will need a Net-Link ID and password to access the site. Please check the site frequently for any updated material. Grading: The marks in this course are: two tests worth 30% each (October 8th and November 10th); one test worth 15% (December 3); and a research paper worth 25% due on December 13. The research paper is to be submitted electronically on Moodle. No handwritten copies will be accepted. I require that the paper be submitted as a Word document. No other format will be accepted. I will hand out topics for the research paper early in the semester. Please me your topic before November 19th. I suggest picking a topic as early as possible. Requirements for the paper will be on Moodle. I will address questions about tests and the paper through only and not in class. I will send an regarding the format of the tests a week before they are given. 1

2 Course Requirements: I will periodically call on students to give analysis or comment on a passage that is assigned for homework. I do not allow the use of electronic devices (computers, cell-phones, et cetera) in class. They are a distraction to everyone in the room. Please consult the academic calendar for the policy on academic integrity (pp ). All work must be your own and I adhere to the policies on plagiarism and cheating in the calendar. Grading: Grading Scale: Percentage Letter Grade Percentage Letter A B A C A C B D B <50 F Grade point equivalencies can be found on page 38 of the calendar. Schedule: Part One: History Week One: Wednesday September 8 Introduction Friday September 10 Life of Augustus Suetonius Life of Augustus (on Moodle site) 2

3 Week Two: Tuesday September 14 Augustus on Augustus Augustus's Res Gestae (on Moodle site) Wednesday September 15 Between Republic and Empire W. Eder "Augustus and the Power of Tradition: The Augustan Principate as Binding Link between Republic and Empire." in Between Republic and Empire, pp (on Moodle site) Friday September 17 Part Two: Augustan Iconography Paul Zanker "The Augustan Program of Cultural Renewal." from The Power of Images in the Age of Augustus, pp (on Moodle site) Virgil Week Three: Tuesday September 21 The Battle of Actium Virgil: Shield of Aeneas Aeneid (on Moodle site) Wednesday September 22 Cleopatra Horace Odes 1.37, Horace Epodes 9, Propertius 4.6 (on Moodle site) Friday September 24 Augustus and Apollo Virgil Georgics (on Moodle site) Selections from Urbs Roma (on Moodle site) 3

4 Week Four: Tuesday September 28 The Augustan Epic Hero Aeneid Book 1 (on Moodle site) Wednesday September 29: Epic Games Aeneid Book 5 (on Moodle site) Friday October 1 Epic and History Aeneid Book 6 (on Moodle site) Eleanor Leach "Viewing the Spectacula of Aeneid 6." in Reading Vergil's Aeneid, pp (on Moodle site) Part Three: Elegy Week Five: Tuesday October 5 Propertius: The Elegiac Persona Propertius 1.1, 1.3, 1.6, 1.7, 1.9, 1.10, , 2.8, 2.23 Wednesday October 6 Propertius: The Elegiac Puella Propertius 1.2, 1.5, 1.8, 1.11, 1.18, 2.3, 2.15, 2.19, 2.24, 2.26, 2.29b Friday October 8 TEST ONE Week Six: Tuesday October 12 NO CLASS 4

5 Wednesday October 13 Public vs. Private in Roman Elegy Propertius 2.1, 2.6, 2.5, 2.10, 2.16, 2.31, 3.1, 3.3, 3.7, 3.9 Friday October 15 Elegy and Roman Sexuality Week Seven: Propertius 2.33, 3.4, 3.11, 3.13, 3.17, 3.18, 3.21, 3.23, 3.25 Tuesday October 19 Thomas Habinek "The invention of sexuality in the world-city of Rome" in The Roman Cultural Revolution, pp (on Moodle site) Ovidian Elegy Ovid: Amores 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.6, 1.8, 1.10, 1.11, 1.12, 1.14 Wednesday October 20 Ovidian Elegy Ovid: Amores 2.1, 2.4, 2.5, 2.9 A and B, 2.11, 2.13 Friday October 22 Ovidian Elegy Ovid Amores 3.1, 3.2, 3.4, 3.6, 3.7, 3.8, 3.13, 3.15 Part Four: Elegiac Rome Week Eight: Tuesday October 26 Ars Amatoria and Eratodidaxis Ars Amatoria Book 1 5

6 Wednesday October 27 Ars Amatoria and Augustan Moral Legislation Ars Amatoria Book 2 Friday October 29 Catherine Edwards, "A moral revolution? The law against adultery." in The Politics of Immorality in Ancient Rome, pp (on Moodle site) Elegiac Monuments Week Nine: Propertius 4.1, 4.2, 4.4, 4.6, 4.10 Tuesday November 2 The Roman Festival Calendar Ovid's Fasti: Books 1-2 Wednesday November 3 War and Love, Mars and Venus Ovid's Fasti: Books 3-4 Friday November 5 Poetry and Politics Week Ten: Ovid's Fasti: Books 5-6 Denis Feeney "Si licet et fas est: Ovid's Fasti and the problem of free speech under the Principate" in Anton Powell ed. Roman poetry and propaganda in the age of Augustus, (on Moodle site) Tuesday November 9 Wednesday November 10 Friday November 12 TEST TWO NO CLASS NO CLASS 6

7 Part Five: REMAKING ROME Week Eleven: Tuesday November 16 Augustan Monuments: Forum of Augustus Selections from Urbs Roma (on Moodle site) Wednesday November 17 Augustan Monuments: Ara Pacis Selections from Urbs Roma (on Moodle site) Friday November 19 Augustan Monuments: Non-Elite Commemorations Andrew Wallace-Hadrill, "Mutatas Formas: The Augustan Transformation of Roman Knowledge." in Cambridge Companion to the Age of Augustus, pp Week Twelve: Tuesday November 23 Ovidian Epic Ovid: The Metamorphoses Books 1-3 Wednesday November 24 Ovidian Artists Ovid: The Metamorphoses Books 4-6 7

8 Friday November 26 Ovidian Narrative Ovid: The Metamorphoses Books 7-10 Week Thirteen: Tuesday November 30 Alessandro Barchiesi, "Narrative Technique and Narratology in the Metamorphoses." in The Cambridge Companion to Ovid, pp (on Moodle site) Ovidian Genre Ovid: The Metamorphoses Books Wednesday December 1 Ovid's Epic History Ovid: The Metamorphoses Books Friday December 3 TEST THREE 8