David C Cook Sunday School Lesson Review

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "David C Cook Sunday School Lesson Review"

Transcription

1 David C Cook Sunday School Lesson Review Winter Quarter December 2017 & January & February 2018 The Bible-in-Life Sunday School Lesson Review is designed to help Sunday school leaders understand and maintain uniform teaching direction throughout the quarter. As a pastor you will be able to tell at a glance what the children are studying. Children s sermons, and churchtime activities can be organized so that Sunday school themes are supported throughout the entire Sunday morning experience. As a Christian education director you will be able to see the Bible Basis for each age level and the focus of each lesson. You will be able to organize opening programs, plan whole school worship services, order materials needed for activities, and plan for special programs that might be valuable for your students. The Sunday School Lesson Review makes teacher training more efficient and effective since you can see at a glance exactly what each teacher needs to know each Sunday. The Sunday school superintendent will find the Sunday School Lesson Review important for supporting teachers in their planning and preparation. Classroom arrangements, large- or small-group activities, and bulletin board ideas can be prepared ahead of time to make Sunday morning easier for your teachers. David C Cook Bible-in-Life Bible-in-Life curriculum has Unified Themes, which are assigned for each unit (units normally coincide with calendar months). This makes possible unified teacher training, lesson introduction, or review in combined assembly and home activities. A Thorough Bible Study Program for All Ages curriculum targets the unique needs of two year olds in a two-year cycle. and Early curricula use their own Unified Themes in a two-year cycle, which take into consideration the special needs of these children. classes are studying the same book or period of Bible history with age-level appropriate lessons that support the Unified Theme. These curricula are on a three-year cycle. Adult curriculum is built around the Uniform Lessons Series, which provides comprehensive and in-depth Bible study for the adult learner. Comprehensive Bible Study from the Adult curriculum is covered on page 17. Cycles Adapted for Each Specific Age Level Scripture texts are carefully selected for each lesson according to the students age- level experiences and learning abilities. Not all age levels will be studying the same text. uses specific themes and Bible passages to which they can relate. and curricula have a two-year cycle of topical Unified Themes. Bible coverage correlation for the age levels is achieved by the fact that these age levels are studying the same book of the Bible or the same historic period throughout the three-year cycle (e.g., Paul s missionary journeys and related Pauline Epistles) except for summer topical studies. Designed to Take Students Completely Through the Bible Nearly Four Times Bible-in-Life Sunday school lessons systematically cover all sections of the Bible at each level. Grades 2 12: Sunday school students progress through the Bible together, studying the same themes and related text

2 Unified Themes Units Unit 4: Jesus is Born Children discover the wonderful gift God sent Jesus Unit 5: Jesus Grew Lessons share stories from Jesus childhood Unit 6: This is Jesus Children discover who Jesus is. & Unit 4: Jesus Is God s Son Lessons focus on Jesus birth - Lessons share stories from Jesus childhood - Children discover who Jesus is.,, & Unit 28: Willing to Serve Lessons help develop a willing heart to serve others for God through the examples of Paul and Barnabas. Lessons introduce students to missions through the travels of Paul. Lessons study Christ s power through examples of the early church.

3 Lesson 1, December 3 rd Unit 4: Jesus Is Born Bible Basis: An angel talks to Mary (Luke 1:26-33; Matthew 1:18-25). Lesson Focus: Jesus had a family. Unit 4: Jesus is God s Son Bible Basis: An angel talks to Joseph and Mary about Jesus birth (Matt. 1:18-25; Luke 1:26-33). Lesson Focus: God sent a wonderful message. Unit 4: Jesus Is God s Son Bible Basis: An angel talks to Mary and Joseph about Jesus birth (Luke 1:26-38; Matthew 1:18-25). Lesson Focus: Jesus is coming. Bible Basis: Paul becomes a Christian (Acts 9:1-31). Memory Verse: Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved. Acts 16:31 Lesson Focus: Believing in Jesus changes us. Bible Basis: Saul, the enemy, becomes Paul, the follower of Jesus (Acts 7:58; 8:1-4; 9:1-22; 22:12-16). Memory Verse: Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! 2 Corinthians 5:17 Lesson Focus: Jesus can make you a new person. Bible Basis: Paul teaches that no one can live a good enough life to be acceptable before God (Philippians 3:4-9; Acts 22:3-4). Memory Verse: This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe. There is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. Romans 3:22-23 Lesson Focus: We can never be good enough without Jesus. Bible Basis: Paul speaks about his past and present life to King Agrippa (Acts 26:9-20) Memory Verse: If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! 2 Corinthians 5:17 Lesson Focus: Your life should show that you ve been changed.

4 Lesson 2, December 10 th Unit 4: Jesus Is Born Bible Basis: Jesus is born in Bethlehem (Luke 2:1-7). Lesson Focus: Jesus was a baby. Unit 4: Jesus is God s Son Bible Basis: Jesus is born to Mary in Bethlehem (Luke 2:1-7). Lesson Focus: Jesus is born! Unit 4: Jesus Is God s Son Bible Basis: Jesus is born in Bethlehem (Luke 2:1-7). Lesson Focus: Jesus is born! Bible Basis: Paul and Barnabas are willing to go where God sends them (Acts 13). Memory Verse: Here I am. Send me! Isaiah 6:8 Lesson Focus: Do what God wants with a willing heart. Bible Basis: Paul s life is different as he obeys Jesus (Acts 9:6, 20-31; 13:1-4). Memory Verse: Offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God this is your spiritual act of worship. Romans 12:1 Lesson Focus: Christians are called to do things differently. Bible Basis: Paul s life and teachings demonstrate Christ s ability to transform lives (Acts 22:5b-15; 9:15, 19b-22). Memory Verse: So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him. Colossians 2:6 Lesson Focus: Once you meet Jesus you re never the same. Bible Basis: The Holy Spirit commissions Paul for work (Acts 13:1-4). He leads Paul into Europe, not Asia (Acts 16:6-10). Paul writes about keeping in step with the Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:16-17, 22-25). Memory Verse: Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. Galatians 5:25 Lesson Focus: Be aware of the Holy Spirit s direction.

5 Lesson 3, December 17 th Unit 4: Jesus Is Born Bible Basis: Shepherds hear the Good News (Luke 2:8-20). Lesson Focus: Jesus had visitors. Unit 4: Jesus is God s Son Bible Basis: Angels tell the shepherds about Jesus birth (Luke 2:8-18). Lesson Focus: We share good news. Unit 4: Jesus Is God s Son Bible Basis: Angels tell shepherds about Jesus birth (Luke 2:8-18). Lesson Focus: There s good news for everyone. Bible Basis: Shepherds eagerly spread the good news that the Savior, Jesus, is born. Luke 2:1-20. Memory Verse: This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. 1 John 4:9. Lesson Focus: Jesus our Savior is born. Bible Basis: Paul tells the people that Jesus is the promised Son of David and the Savior of the world (Luke 2:1-20; Acts 13:22-23; Romans 8:3-5; Ephesians 2:6-8). Memory Verse: Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is Christ the Lord. Luke 2:11 Lesson Focus: The message of Jesus is for everyone. Bible Basis: Paul explains God s magnificent plan of salvation (Acts 13:16-17, 21-23, 26, 38-39; Galatians 4:4-6). Memory Verse: But when the time had fully come, God sent his Son, born of a woman, born under law, to redeem those under law, that we might receive the full rights of sons. Galatians 4:4-5a. Lesson Focus: God sent His Son so we could be His children. Bible Basis: Paul preaches about Christ (Acts 13:14-32, 38-39, 42-47). Memory Verse: Beyond all question, the mystery of godliness is great: He appeared in a body, was vindicated by the Spirit, was seen by angels, was preached among the nations, was believed on in the world, was taken up in glory. 1 Timothy 3:16. Lesson Focus: Christmas is a great time to talk about Jesus.

6 Lesson 4, December 24 th Unit 4: Jesus Is Born Bible Basis: The Wise Men worship Jesus (Matthew 2:1-11). Lesson Focus: Jesus got presents. Unit 4: Jesus is God s Son Bible Basis: The Wise Men worship Jesus (Matt. 2:1-11). Lesson Focus: Our worship is a gift we give God. Unit 4: Jesus Is God s Son Bible Basis: Mary and Joseph present Jesus at the temple (Luke 2:21-38). Lesson Focus: Jesus is God s Son. Bible Basis: Paul and Barnabas work for Jesus at Iconium and Lystra (Acts 14). Memory Verse: Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Matthew 6:33. Lesson Focus: Jesus is the best choice. Bible Basis: Paul preaches the truth in Lystra under difficult circumstances (Acts 14). Memory Verse: Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. 2 Corinthians 1:21 Lesson Focus: Following Christ can be tough. Bible Basis: Paul teaches that believers can look forward to Christ s return and should seek to live godly lives in anticipation of that time (1 Thessalonians 4:14-17; Titus 2:11-14). Memory Verse: Live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, while we wait for the blessed hope the glorious appearing of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ. Titus 2:12b-13 Lesson Focus: Wait for Jesus, live for Jesus. Bible Basis: Paul works at a trade while he preaches in Corinth (Acts 18:1-4) so that his ministry may be blameless and unhindered (1 Corinthians 9:12-23). Memory Verse: I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some. I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings. 1 Corinthians 9:22b-23 Lesson Focus: Making an effort to relate to others helps us witness.

7 Lesson 5, December 31 st Unti 5: Jesus Grew Bible Basis: Joseph and Mary take Jesus to Egypt (Matthew 2:13-15, 19-23). Lesson Focus: Jesus was kept safe. Bible Basis: Joseph and Mary take the child to Egypt for protection (Matt. 2:13-15, 19-23). Lesson Focus: God gives us people to help keep us safe. Bible Basis: Joseph and Mary take the child Jesus to Egypt for protection (Matthew 2:13-15, 19-23). Lesson Focus: God took care of Jesus. Bible Basis: Paul talks about Jesus anywhere (Acts 25:23-27; 26; Mark 16:15). Memory Verse: Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation. Mark 16:15 Lesson Focus: People all over the world need Jesus. Bible Basis: Paul preaches at Thessalonica, Berea, and Athens (Acts 17). Memory Verse: So is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. Isaiah 55:11 Lesson Focus: Share your faith and leave the results to God. Bible Basis: Paul and Barnabas act boldly on the first missionary journey (Acts 13:2-5a, 14, 42-46). Memory Verse: But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth. Acts 1:8 Lesson Focus: The Holy Spirit helps us speak boldly about Jesus. Bible Basis: God is praised for salvation by grace (Ephesians 1:3-6; 2:4-10). Memory Verse: For it is by grace that you have been saved, through faith and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God not by works, so that no one can boast. Ephesians 2:8-9 Lesson Focus: Our gift of salvation is absolutely free.

8 Lesson 6, January 7 th Unti 5: Jesus Grew Bible Basis: Jesus grew up as a child in a family in Nazareth (Luke 2:40,52; Matthew 13:55-56a). Lesson Focus: Jesus was little boy. Bible Basis: Jesus grew up as a child in Nazareth with brothers and sisters (Deut. 6:4-7; Luke 2:40, 52; Matt. 13:55-56a). Lesson Focus: Jesus grew and became strong. Note: writer needs to emphasize Jesus is divine, but did have growth stages like us. Bible Basis: Jesus grew up as a child in Nazareth and went to the temple at age twelve (Luke 2:40-52; Matthew 13:55-56). Lesson Focus: Jesus grows up and learns. Bible Basis: Paul and Silas tell the good news of Jesus to people in Philippi (Acts 16). Memory Verse: Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. 1 Peter 3:15 Lesson Focus: We can tell about Jesus wherever we are. Bible Basis: Paul preaches to Gentiles as well as to Jews, and God promises to be with him (Acts 18:1-23). Memory Verse: If anyone serves, he should do it in the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. 1 Peter 4:11 Lesson Focus: God helps us in all we do. Bible Basis: Paul enters Europe on his second missionary journey (Acts 16:6-15). Memory Verse: For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. Isaiah 55:8 Lesson Focus: God may take us in unexpected directions. Bible Basis: Jews and Gentiles are reconciled through Christ and united in His Body (Ephesians 2:11-18; 3:1-6; 4:3-6). Memory Verse: Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace. There is one body and one Spirit just as you were called to one hope when you were called. Ephesians 4:3-4 Lesson Focus: Jesus tears down walls between people.

9 Lesson 7, January 14 th Unti 5: Jesus Grew Bible Basis: Jesus goes to the temple at age 12 (Luke 2:41-51). Lesson Focus: Jesus became a big boy. Bible Basis: Jesus goes to the temple at age twelve. (Luke 2:42-51) Lesson Focus: Jesus listened and we can, too. Bible Basis: Jesus is baptized. John the Baptist recognizes that Jesus is the Son of God (Matthew 3:13-17; John 1:32-34). Lesson Focus: Jesus pleases God. Bible Basis: Paul shares the message with Jews and Gentiles (Acts 17). Memory Verse: All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness. 2 Timothy 3:16 Lesson Focus: It s important to learn about Jesus. Bible Basis: Paul and his helpers preach Christ to idol-worshipers at Ephesus (Acts 19; 1 John 4:1-3). Memory Verse: You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world. 1 John 4:4 Lesson Focus: Any power not from God is false power. Bible Basis: Paul experiences deep emotional ties on his third missionary journey (Acts 20:16-25, 36-38). Memory Verse: By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another. John 13:35 Lesson Focus: The best friendships put Jesus first. Bible Basis: Believers are to put on the new self by imitating Christ (Ephesians 4:21 5:2). Memory Verse: Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us. Ephesians 5:1-2a Lesson Focus: Live like Christ.

10 Lesson 8, January 21 st Unti 5: Jesus Grew Bible Basis: Jesus called some fishermen to follow him (Luke 5: 1-11). Lesson Focus: Jesus grew up. Bible Basis: Jesus called some fishermen to follow Him and help find more followers (Luke 5:1-11; Matt. 4:18-22). Lesson Focus: Jesus wants us to be helpers. Bible Basis: Jesus calls the fishermen to follow Him (Luke 5:1-11; Matthew 4:18-22). Lesson Focus: Jesus says, Follow Me. Bible Basis: Paul takes an offering to the poor at Jerusalem (Acts 19:21; Romans 15:25-27; 2 Corinthians 8:1-5). Memory Verse: Blessed is he who is kind to the needy. Proverbs 14:21. Lesson Focus: We give to others because we love God. Bible Basis: Paul heads for Jerusalem despite the attempts of others to him out of doing so (Acts 20:22-24; 21:1-15). Memory Verse: We know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28 Lesson Focus: Be willing to totally trust God. Bible Basis: Paul is arrested in Jerusalem (Acts 21:10-14, 27-28, 31, 33; 23:11). Memory Verse: However, if you suffer as a Christian, do not be ashamed, but praise God that you bear that name. 1 Peter 4:16. Lesson Focus: Being a Christian can be tough. Bible Basis: Believers are to live as children of light (Ephesians 5:6-17). Memory Verse: For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light. Ephesians 5:8 Lesson Focus: Can you tell the difference between light and darkness?

11 Lesson 9, January 28 th Unit 6: This is Jesus! Bible Basis: Jesus asks to see the children (Mark 10:13-16). Lesson Focus: Jesus loves the children. Bible Basis: Jesus helped people by making them well (Matt. 9:35-36; Mark 8:22-25; Acts 10:38). Lesson Focus: Jesus cares when we need help. Bible Basis: Jesus heals a deaf and mute man (Mark 7:31-37). Lesson Focus: Jesus cares about everyone s needs. Bible Basis: Paul and his fellow workers teach others about Jesus through the Scriptures (Acts 18). Memory Verse: We are God s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works. Ephesians 2:10 Lesson Focus: We can each do our part for Jesus. Bible Basis: Paul witnesses before Felix and Festus during two years in prison (Acts 24 25:12). Memory Verse: Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. 1 Peter 3:15 Lesson Focus: Be prepared to tell anyone about Jesus Bible Basis: Paul is under house arrest upon arrival in Rome (Acts 28:16-23; Philippians 1:12-14). Memory Verse: For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11 Lesson Focus: God can turn bad into good. Bible Basis: Believers are to clothe themselves in the armor of God (Ephesians 6:10-18). Memory Verse: Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil s schemes. Ephesians 6:11 Lesson Focus: God equips us to withstand the forces of evil.

12 Lesson 10, February 4 th Unit 6: This is Jesus! Bible Basis: Jesus heals Jairus daughter (Luke 8:40-42,49-56). Lesson Focus: Jesus helped a little girl. Bible Basis: Jesus prayed and taught His disciples to pray (Matt. 6:9-13; 14:23). Lesson Focus: Jesus shows us how to talk to God. Bible Basis: Jesus tells the story of the lost sheep (Luke 15:1-7). Lesson Focus: Jesus loves us. Bible Basis: Paul heals the sick and raises a young man to life (Acts 19:11-20; 20:1-12). Memory Verse: God did extraordinary miracles through Paul. Acts 19:11 Lesson Focus: Jesus power is real. Bible Basis: Paul witnesses to King Agrippa (Acts 25:13 26:32; Matthew 10:16-20). Memory Verse: At that time you will be given what to say, for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you. Matthew 10:19-20 Lesson Focus: Share what Jesus has done for you. Bible Basis: Fellow believers care for Paul (2 Timothy 4:9, 13; Philippians 2:19-25; 4:18). Memory Verse: Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth. 1 John 3:18 Lesson Focus: Encourage each other with acts of kindness. Bible Basis: The glorified Christ reveals Himself to John (Revelation 1:10-13, 17-18; 5:1-5, 11-12). Memory Verse: The revelation of Jesus Christ, which God gave him to show his servants what must soon take place. Revelation 1:1 Lesson Focus: The Book of Revelation shows us what will take place.

13 Unit 6: This is Jesus! Bible Basis: Jesus feeds the 5,000 (John 6:1-14). Lesson Focus: Jesus cared for hungry people. Lesson 11, February 11 th Bible Basis: Jesus taught the people (Matt. 5:43-48). Lesson Focus: Jesus teaches us to love others. Bible Basis: James and John ask for chief places in Jesus kingdom (Mark 10:35-45). Lesson Focus: Jesus teaches us to serve others. Bible Basis: Paul faces difficulties in Jerusalem and on a ship (Acts 21:27-36; 23:11-24; 27:1-44). Memory Verse: The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Deuteronomy 31:8 Lesson Focus: God is with us in hard times. Bible Basis: Paul is encouraged by God s promises and takes the initiative during a shipwreck (Acts 27:1 28:16). Memory Verse: Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall. Psalm 55:22 Lesson Focus: Our faith in God can encourage others. Bible Basis: Apollos is helped in spiritual understanding by Priscilla and Aquila (Acts 18:24-28). Memory Verse: Therefore let us leave the elementary teaching about Christ and go on to maturity. Hebrews 6:1 Lesson Focus: We need help to grow as Christians. Bible Basis: A warning against spiritual complacency (Revelation 3:14-22). Memory Verse: I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm neither hot nor cold I am about to spit you out of my mouth. Revelation 3:15-16 Lesson Focus: Don t be lukewarm; stand up for Jesus.

14 Lesson 12, February 18 th Unit 6: This is Jesus! Bible Basis: Jesus calms the storm (Mark 4:35-41). Lesson Focus: Jesus stopped a storm. Bible Basis: Jesus forgave the sinful woman (Luke 7:36-50). Lesson Focus: Jesus forgives us when we re sorry. Bible Basis: Jesus forgave a woman s sins (Luke 7:36-50). Lesson Focus: Jesus forgives us. Bible Basis: Paul receives help from other Christians while he is a prisoner (Acts 28:16-31; Philippians 4:10-20; 2 Timothy 4:9-13). Memory Verse: As we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers. Galatians 6:10 Lesson Focus: God gives us chances to help others. Bible Basis: Paul, alone in prison, writes to encourage Timothy to remember God s Word as he continues in the ministry (2 Timothy 3:10 4:5). Memory Verse: All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness. 2 Timothy 3:16 Lesson Focus: The Bible equips us for life. Bible Basis: Paul has to rebuke Peter; yet they maintain a relationship (Galatians 2:11-14; 2 Peter 3:15-16). Memory Verse: Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will in all things grow up into him who is the Head, that is, Christ. Ephesians 4:15 Lesson Focus: Give and receive constructive criticism with love. Bible Basis: Christ s final triumph and just judgment of all peoples (Revelation 11:15-18; 19:11, 13, 15-16; 20:11-15). Memory Verse: He will judge the world in righteousness and the peoples in his truth. Psalm 96:13b Lesson Focus: The whole world will face judgment one day.

15 Lesson 13, February 25 th Unit 6: This is Jesus! Bible Basis: Jesus visits Mary, Martha, and Lazarus (Luke 10:38-42). Lesson Focus: Jesus visited friends. Bible Basis: Jesus healed and helped people in many ways (Matt. 4:23-25; 8:14, 15). Lesson Focus: Jesus cares when we re sick. Bible Basis: Jesus teachers about persistence (Matt.7:7-8). Jesus prays before choosing the twelve disciples (Luke 6:12-16), and Jesus prays for His disciples (John 17:20). Lesson Focus: Jesus teaches us to ask God for help. Bible Basis: Paul shows his concern for other Christians by praying for them, writing letters, and visiting them (Acts 20:13-38; Ephesians 1:1-2, 15-23; 6:18-24). Memory Verse: In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy. Philippians 1:4 Lesson Focus: Praying shows we care about each other. Bible Basis: As the end of Paul s life draws near, he knows he has wholeheartedly followed Christ and encourages others to do the same (Philippians 1:19-27; 2 Timothy 4:6-8; Romans 12:1-2). Memory Verse: I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. Philippians 3:14 Lesson Focus: Christ rewards everyone who loves Him to the end. Bible Basis: Barnabas helps restore John Mark (Acts 12:25; 13:4-5, 13; 15:36-41; 2 Timothy 4:11). Memory Verse: Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you. Ephesians 4:32 Lesson Focus: Be willing to give others a second chance. Bible Basis: Anticipating the wonders of the new Jerusalem (Revelation 21:1-4; 22:1-5, 20-21). Memory Verse: I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. John 14:2b-3 Lesson Focus: Heaven is greater than you can imagine.

16 December 2017 / 2018 Bible In Life Adult Faith in Action Studies in Daniel and the New Testament Unit I: The Early Church Proclaims Faith in Christ Lesson 1: December 3 rd Key Verse: Acts 3:16 Lesson Focus: Faith in Jesus makes people whole. Lesson 2: December 10 th Key Verse: Acts 13:2 Lesson Focus: The Holy Spirit guides and directs us. Lesson 3: December 17 th Key Verse: Acts 14:21-22 Lesson Focus: The power of the Gospel remains despite opposition. Lesson 4: December 24 th Key Verse: Matthew 2:11 Lesson Focus: The heart of Christmas is worship. Lesson 5: December 31 st Key Verse: Ephesians 4:1-3 Lesson Focus: Christ calls us to unite in love and service. Unit II: A Living Faith in God Lesson 6: January 7 th Key Verse: Daniel 1:8 Lesson Focus: Remain faithful in all circumstances. Lesson 7: January 14 th Key Verse: Daniel 3:28 Lesson Focus: Boldly serve God alone. Lesson 8: January 21 st Key Verse: Daniel 9:19 Lesson Focus: Believe that God hears and acts when we pray. Lesson 9: January 28 th Key Verse: Daniel 10:19 Lesson Focus: Be strong in the Lord who knows the future. Unit III: Self-controlled, Upright and Godly Faith Lesson 10: February 4 th Key Verse: James 2:17 Lesson Focus: Faith leads to action. Lesson11: February 11 th Key Verse: James 3:8 Lesson Focus: Let your words reflect and honor God. Lesson 12: February 18 th Key Verse: Acts 9:40 Lesson Focus: God takes care of His faithful disciples. Lesson 13: February 25 th Key Verse: 1 Timothy 6:12 Lesson Focus: True life is in God, not the world.

What s the Bible all about? Amy Warfield Grace Chapel Week 4 New Testament

What s the Bible all about? Amy Warfield Grace Chapel Week 4 New Testament Amy Warfield Grace Chapel Week 4 New Testament 400 years of silence... Persia defeated by Alexander the Great(333 BC) Seleucids Dynasty Maccabees (Jews) rule again in Israel ( 152-137 BC) Rome conquers

More information

Dreaming Big Dreams Intro to the Bible

Dreaming Big Dreams Intro to the Bible How does understanding the help you to achieve your Big Dream? Goal Our Goal tonight is the understand the make-up of the and how it can help us to achieve our Big Dreams Overview Number of Books in the

More information

Dorcas, Lydia, and Priscilla: Women In The Early Church

Dorcas, Lydia, and Priscilla: Women In The Early Church Dorcas, Lydia, and Priscilla: Women In The Early Church INTRODUCTION In the history of Christianity, the truly great characters have always been simple, humble men and women. They were disciples who gave

More information

JOURNEYS THROUGH THE BIBLE

JOURNEYS THROUGH THE BIBLE JOURNEYS THROUGH THE BIBLE #7. THE ACTS OF THE APOSTLES 1. THE ACTS OF THE APOSTLES is the name given to the second New Testament book written by Luke for Theophilus (Luke 1:3). Though some contend the

More information

Shipwrecked Acts PPT Title Shipwrecked Main Point: Key Verse: Prop: BACKGROUND/REVIEW Say: GOD S PLAN FOR PAUL Say: Ask: three Say: Ask:

Shipwrecked Acts PPT Title Shipwrecked Main Point: Key Verse: Prop: BACKGROUND/REVIEW Say: GOD S PLAN FOR PAUL Say: Ask: three Say: Ask: Shipwrecked Acts 27-28 PPT Title Shipwrecked Main Point: God has a plan for each of us Key Verse: But the Lord said to Ananias, "Go! I have chosen this man to work for Me He will carry My name to those

More information

THREE-YEAR BIBLE STORY OVERVIEW

THREE-YEAR BIBLE STORY OVERVIEW OLD TESTAMENT Creation Story (Genesis 1:1-2:1) Adam and Eve s First Job (Genesis 1:26-31; 2:15, 19-20) Garden of Eden (Genesis 3:1-13, 23 & 24) The Fall (Genesis 3:1-24) Noah (Genesis 6-8) Abraham s Calling

More information

Growing up into Christ

Growing up into Christ Growing up into Christ Ephesians : YOUNGER Classroom Teaching Bible story taught by teacher MIDDLE Classroom Teaching A balance of Bible story teaching and interactive discovery Genesis to Revelation GR

More information

Stars Club Review (NIV 2011)

Stars Club Review (NIV 2011) Stars Club Review (NIV 2011) Girl s Name Birthdate Church Name Sponsor s Name Church Address Sponsor s Address Date Review Passed / / Grade Review Board Member Signature Review Board Member Signature Review

More information

Knowing Christ Lessons from Paul s Life and Ministry Living in Christ Ephesians 1:1-23 Inductive Discovery Lesson 8

Knowing Christ Lessons from Paul s Life and Ministry Living in Christ Ephesians 1:1-23 Inductive Discovery Lesson 8 Knowing Christ Lessons from Paul s Life and Ministry Living in Christ Ephesians 1:1-23 Inductive Discovery Lesson 8 What would you do if your future was indefinitely suspended? When Paul wrote this letter,

More information

Lesson 3 Confidence in the Flesh and Paul s Example Philippians 3

Lesson 3 Confidence in the Flesh and Paul s Example Philippians 3 Lesson 3 Confidence in the Flesh and Paul s Example Philippians 3 Previously From prison in Rome, Paul is writing to the church at Philippi, which he founded along with Silas and Timothy about 15 years

More information

3D Blessing Worksheet

3D Blessing Worksheet 3D Blessing Worksheet 1. Blessing GOD - Giving thanks to God for person 2. Blessing DESIGN - Include Scripture in blessing WHO they are 3. Blessing DESTINY- Include Scripture in blessing WHERE they have

More information

Memory Treasures from the Holy Bible 1 - Genesis 1: 1 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.

Memory Treasures from the Holy Bible 1 - Genesis 1: 1 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. Memory Treasures from the Holy Bible 1 - Genesis 1: 1 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2 - Genesis 15: 1 Do not be afraid, I am your shield, your very great reward. 3 - Genesis 32:

More information

YEAR B 2017/2018 Easter

YEAR B 2017/2018 Easter Advent Dec. 3, 2017 through Dec. 24, 2017 Time after Epiphany Jan. 7, 2018 through Feb. 13, 2018 The Three Days Mar. 29, 2018 through Mar. 31, 2018 Time after Pentecost May 21, 2018 through Nov. 28, 2018

More information

Harvest Reading Plan 2017

Harvest Reading Plan 2017 Harvest Reading Plan 2017 Jan 1 5 Days on Spiritual Growth: Where am I with God? (Genesis 3:1-13;Psalm 139) Jan 2 5 Days on Spiritual Growth: Where am I with God s Word? (Psalm 119:111,130; 2 Timothy 3:16)

More information

YEAR 3 NEW TESTAMENT

YEAR 3 NEW TESTAMENT YEAR 3 NEW TESTAMENT Unit 1 Prophesies and Promises Fulfilled Unit Focus: Jesus is God s greatest gift to the world. Memory Verse: She will give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus,

More information

Plan # 1 Read Four Parts Each Day Plan # 2 From Beginning To End Plan # 3 Coordinated Readings

Plan # 1 Read Four Parts Each Day Plan # 2 From Beginning To End Plan # 3 Coordinated Readings All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. 2 Timothy 3.16-17 One

More information

Chronology and Locations of the Writing of Acts and Paul s Letters and of Key Individuals and Events Mentioned in them Rick Aschmann

Chronology and Locations of the Writing of Acts and Paul s Letters and of Key Individuals and Events Mentioned in them Rick Aschmann See Map. New Testament chronology page Chronology and Locations of the Writing of Acts and Paul s Letters and of Key Individuals and Events Mentioned in them Rick Aschmann Last updated: 27-Jun-2017 For

More information

Understanding the Great Commission

Understanding the Great Commission Understanding the Great Commission Matthew 28:18-20 And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations,

More information

Introduction to the Epistles

Introduction to the Epistles Introduction to the Epistles Characteristics 1) They explain and interpret what the Gospels report about Jesus death and resurrection. 2) They give the full and complete teaching about the church that

More information

Memory Work Grades 3 and

Memory Work Grades 3 and Memory Work Grades 3 and 4 2017-2018 Memory Work is every Tuesday through Friday, unless noted. Please help your child memorize our assigned portion for each day. Please note that some passages repeat

More information

Holy Spirit THE HOLY SPIRIT IN THE LIFE OF A CHRISTIAN

Holy Spirit THE HOLY SPIRIT IN THE LIFE OF A CHRISTIAN Holy Spirit THE HOLY SPIRIT IN THE LIFE OF A CHRISTIAN Lesson 5 When Jesus poured out the Spirit on all flesh on the day of Pentecost, the Holy Spirit started His ministry in the life of the Christians.

More information

3-Track Plan for Reading the Bible

3-Track Plan for Reading the Bible Track I Introduction to the Bible 3-Track Plan for Reading the Bible 1. Two Weeks on the Life and Teachings of Jesus Luke 1: Preparing for Jesus arrival Luke 2: The story of Jesus birth Mark 1: The beginning

More information

Book of Acts - Course B

Book of Acts - Course B CHRISTIAN'S BIBLE SALVATION CHURCH GOD/DEITY MORALITY AUDIO CLASS BOOKS LIFE FAMILY CREATION COURSES IN-DEPTH ARTICLES BRIEF TOPICS RELIGIONS E- COMMENTARIES BOOKS Book of Acts - Course B Instructions:

More information

THE CHURCH OF GOD SABBATH SCHOOL LESSONS

THE CHURCH OF GOD SABBATH SCHOOL LESSONS THE TEN COMMANDMENTS I. Thou shalt have no other gods before me. II. Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath,

More information

Through the Bible in 2 years Syllabus

Through the Bible in 2 years Syllabus Through the Bible in 2 years Syllabus Year 1 Genesis Creation Genesis 1- Genesis 1:1-2:25 2 God is an orderly God, and He built us in an orderly way. Fall of Man Genesis 3:1-4:26 There are consequences

More information

Priscilla and Aquila Lesson Aim: To know God gives us opportunities to serve Him together.

Priscilla and Aquila Lesson Aim: To know God gives us opportunities to serve Him together. Teacher s Guide: Ages 6-7 Prophets & Promises Part 1: Acts through Revelation Unit 3, Lesson 16 Priscilla and Aquila Lesson Aim: To know God gives us opportunities to serve Him together. THE WORSHIP Who

More information

There are two important practices that you should begin to develop immediately to secure your new faith.

There are two important practices that you should begin to develop immediately to secure your new faith. 1 WELCOME! Welcome to the family of God! By committing your life to Jesus Christ, you have embarked on the most exciting, rewarding, fulfilling and challenging life you could ever imagine! This booklet

More information

The Story of Eunice and Lois

The Story of Eunice and Lois The Story of Eunice and Lois in Acts 16:1-5, 2 Timothy 3:14-16 and 1Timothy 1:1-5 Day One Anticipate: to look forward to or expect What does it mean to live a life of significance? I began asking this

More information

From Jerusalem to Rome

From Jerusalem to Rome From Jerusalem to Rome An historical narrative of the early church providing historical, theological and practice insights into the ekklesia established by the Apostles. It is not comprehensive focusing

More information

The Early Church in the Book of Acts. July 4, 2013 Intro Lecture Lakeside Institute of Theology Ross Arnold, Summer 2013

The Early Church in the Book of Acts. July 4, 2013 Intro Lecture Lakeside Institute of Theology Ross Arnold, Summer 2013 The Early Church in the Book of Acts July 4, 2013 Intro Lecture Lakeside Institute of Theology Ross Arnold, Summer 2013 Policies and Requirements 1. Classes are free, but all students seeking a certificate

More information

Bible Verses Set #2 Name: Bible Verses Set #1. Name: Bible Verses Set #3. Bible Verses Set #4 Name: Name:

Bible Verses Set #2 Name: Bible Verses Set #1. Name: Bible Verses Set #3. Bible Verses Set #4 Name: Name: Bible Verses Set #1 Genesis 1:1 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. Romans 3:23 For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. John 3:16 For God loved the world in this way:

More information

Sunday, February 3 9:30 a.m. class. Ephesians: The Glory of God in the Church #1 An Introduction

Sunday, February 3 9:30 a.m. class. Ephesians: The Glory of God in the Church #1 An Introduction Sunday, February 3 9:30 a.m. class Ephesians: The Glory of God in the Church #1 An Introduction AUTHOR: Paul. Few critics deny this. His ministry at Ephesus is covered in Acts 18:18-21; Acts 19:2-41; Acts

More information

Why are there Four Gospels?

Why are there Four Gospels? 1 Why are there Four Gospels? The words and deeds of Jesus were first told and retold by word of mouth. The church did not have a valid, written record for about 20 years, although uninspired documents

More information

31 Verses to Pray Over Your Husband/Future Husband

31 Verses to Pray Over Your Husband/Future Husband 31 Verses to Pray Over Your Husband/Future Husband Day One: Prayer for His Spiritual Growth "That you will walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, to please Him in all respects, bearing fruit in every good

More information

The Books of the New Testament

The Books of the New Testament Yo u r B i b l e Lesson 5 The Books of the New Testament At the time the New Testament was being written, the Old Testament picture had changed very much. The days of the prophets were gone, and many people

More information

Elders & Deacons in the Church John Hepp, Jr.

Elders & Deacons in the Church John Hepp, Jr. Elders & Deacons in the Church John Hepp, Jr. It would not be right for us to neglect the ministry of the word of God in order to wait on tables.we will turn this responsibility over to them and will give

More information

1 Thessalonians. Intro and Chapter 1-3

1 Thessalonians. Intro and Chapter 1-3 1 Thessalonians Intro and Chapter 1-3 May the Lord make your love increase and overflow for each other and for everyone else, just as ours does for you. May he strengthen your hearts so that you will be

More information

The Blessings of Christmas 1. The Blessings of Christmas. Mark McGee

The Blessings of Christmas 1. The Blessings of Christmas. Mark McGee The Blessings of Christmas 1 The Blessings of Christmas By Mark McGee Being a Christian has so many wonderful blessings attached to it. In fact, the Apostle Paul tells us that we are blessed with every

More information

Bible Study. Read, Study, Discuss, Teach. Jim MacGregor

Bible Study. Read, Study, Discuss, Teach. Jim MacGregor Bible Study Read, Study, Discuss, Teach http://psalmstudy.org/ biblical interpreta.on is too important to leave to the experts, though experts have much of value to say, because understanding the Bible

More information

God s Plan of Salvation

God s Plan of Salvation God s Plan of Salvation The Bible calls all believers to be in a lifelong pursuit of increasing in knowledge and love of the LORD and His people. Philippians 1:9-11 And this is my prayer: that your love

More information

Developing Team Leadership

Developing Team Leadership Developing Team Leadership Growing Christian Leaders Series Manual 10 by Duane L. Anderson Developing Team Leadership Growing Christian Leaders Series Manual 10 Scripture taken from the New King James

More information

The Commands of Jesus

The Commands of Jesus The Commands of Jesus The Story of the Commands of Jesus Study In a quest to find a small group Bible Study for committed Followers of Jesus who want to mature in their faith a search was made of existing

More information

Church Planting Through Disciple Making

Church Planting Through Disciple Making Church Planting Through Disciple Making by Duane L. Anderson Church Planting Through Disciple Making Copyright 1997 Duane L. Anderson Scripture quotations in this manual are from the New King James Version

More information

GOD STILL CARES ABOUT THE LORD S CHURCH Matthew 16:18 Willie A. Alvarenga

GOD STILL CARES ABOUT THE LORD S CHURCH Matthew 16:18 Willie A. Alvarenga GOD STILL CARES ABOUT THE LORD S CHURCH Matthew 16:18 Willie A. Alvarenga INTRODUCTION: 1. What a great blessing it is to speak about God and the Lord s church! 2. I consider this a great blessing preaching

More information

HOLY BIBLE TRINITY JESUS CHRIST VIRGIN BIRTH REDEMPTION

HOLY BIBLE TRINITY JESUS CHRIST VIRGIN BIRTH REDEMPTION Our vision is simple. We desire to love God, serve people, teach the Word, and change the world. We are doing this by remaining true to the Holy Spirit and God s Word. We desire to be a church that reaches

More information

THE ACTS OF THE APOSTLES

THE ACTS OF THE APOSTLES P a g e 1 THE ACTS OF THE APOSTLES Chapter 1: God s Purpose for His Church 1. What is God s purpose for the church? Is your church fulfilling that purpose? 2. What would it take for your church to become

More information

Easy Reading Edition June 26 July 2. Paul and Rome SABBATH JUNE 26

Easy Reading Edition June 26 July 2. Paul and Rome SABBATH JUNE 26 1 Easy Reading Edition June 26 July 2 SABBATH JUNE 26 READ FOR THIS WEEK S LESSON: Acts 28:17 31; Romans 1:7; Romans 15:14, 20 27; Ephesians 1; Philippians 1:12. MEMORY VERSE: First, I thank my God through

More information

As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another (Proverbs 27:17, NIV).

As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another (Proverbs 27:17, NIV). Accountability / 47 As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another (Proverbs 27:17, NIV). Friends Graduate Review Key (NIV) I can learn from others. Attitude Is Everything Do nothing out of selfish

More information

Your New Christian Road Map

Your New Christian Road Map RPM Volume 17, Number 2, January 4 to January 10, 2015 Your New Christian Road Map PASSION Australia PASSIONAustralia.org Congratulations! You have made a great choice when you chose to accept Jesus as

More information

TABLE OF CONTENTS. Lifestyle Prayer The Lord s Prayer Tabernacle Prayer Prayer and Scripture Devotional... 12

TABLE OF CONTENTS. Lifestyle Prayer The Lord s Prayer Tabernacle Prayer Prayer and Scripture Devotional... 12 1 Pray First TABLE OF CONTENTS Lifestyle Prayer... 1 The Lord s Prayer... 3 Tabernacle Prayer... 7 Prayer and Scripture Devotional... 12 Warfare Prayers... 15 Personal Prayer Targets... 20 My Prayer Journal...

More information

TABLE OF CONTENTS. Lifestyle Prayer The Lord s Prayer Tabernacle Prayer Prayer and Scripture Devotional... 13

TABLE OF CONTENTS. Lifestyle Prayer The Lord s Prayer Tabernacle Prayer Prayer and Scripture Devotional... 13 TABLE OF CONTENTS Lifestyle Prayer... 1 The Lord s Prayer... 3 Tabernacle Prayer... 7 Prayer and Scripture Devotional... 13 Warfare Prayers... 17 Personal Prayer Targets... 23 My Prayer Journal... 30 Prayer

More information

Bible Verses & Phrases For Preschool

Bible Verses & Phrases For Preschool Bible Verses & Phrases For Preschool (Babies through indergarten) Bible Verses and Phrases P=Pre-indergartners; =indergartners Genesis 1:1 In the beginning God created the world. Genesis 1:5 God made day

More information

A STUDY ON THE HOLY SPIRIT FROM THE NEW TESTAMENT. The Holy Spirit in the Gospels:

A STUDY ON THE HOLY SPIRIT FROM THE NEW TESTAMENT. The Holy Spirit in the Gospels: The Holy Spirit in the Gospels: 1. Jesus became flesh through the power of the Holy Spirit a. Matthew 1:18 b. Matthew 1:20 c. Luke 1:35 2. Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit a. Luke 1:41 3. Zechariah

More information

Values: We Love o We love God and we love people and we want more people love God.

Values: We Love o We love God and we love people and we want more people love God. MISSION Mission: The Roots Community Church exists to glorify God by: Reaching ALL Lost, Discipling ALL Found, Equipping ALL Disciples and Sending ALL Equipped. Values: We Love o We love God and we love

More information

AN OUTLINE OF SCRIPTURE PART XI I. A Harmony of the Gospels

AN OUTLINE OF SCRIPTURE PART XI I. A Harmony of the Gospels I. A Harmony of the Gospels A. Introduction 1. Historical Highlight Caesar Augustus rules the Roman Empire 40 B.C.-14 A.D. 2. Preface to the Synoptic Gospels Mat. 1:1; Mark 1:1; Luke 1:1-4 3. Preface to

More information

Spiritual Gifts Revised 7/18/2017

Spiritual Gifts Revised 7/18/2017 Spiritual Gifts Revised 7/18/2017 Part 1: Spiritual Gifts (Not about us but for others) It is vitally important that every born-again believer know what his/her spiritual gift(s) is as soon as possible,

More information

Dear Teacher, Praying for His blessing upon you, Dick Woodward Pastor and author of the Mini Bible College

Dear Teacher, Praying for His blessing upon you, Dick Woodward Pastor and author of the Mini Bible College Dear Teacher, The Apostle Paul told Timothy, his son in the faith: You then, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. And the things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses

More information

Jesus, The Way. Finding Jesus, The Way. I. In this series of sermons which we began last Sunday morning, I m

Jesus, The Way. Finding Jesus, The Way. I. In this series of sermons which we began last Sunday morning, I m Jesus The Way Finding Jesus, The Way (Lesson 2) 1 Jesus, The Way Finding Jesus, The Way INTRODUCTION: I. In this series of sermons which we began last Sunday morning, I m attempting to present Jesus as

More information

BACK TO THE BIBLE. 30 Days To Understanding The Bible

BACK TO THE BIBLE. 30 Days To Understanding The Bible BACK TO THE BIBLE 30 Days To Understanding The Bible The Bible has two major divisions: 1. Old Testament 2. New Testament The Old Testament: Begins with creation. Tells the story of the Jewish people up

More information

What Must I Do to be Saved?

What Must I Do to be Saved? What Must I Do to be Saved? Introduction In my view, one of the most important theological questions, in all of Christianity, is as follows: What, exactly, do we need to do, in order to be saved? In other

More information

Faith Works To Be Saved

Faith Works To Be Saved Faith Works To Be Saved As we begin to look at James letter related to our faith and works, there must be a clear understanding of what allows mankind to reap the benefits of salvation it is only by the

More information

What makes Show Me Jesus different?

What makes Show Me Jesus different? What makes Show Me Jesus different? Are you finding other Sunday school curricula watered-down and moralistic? Show Me Jesus helps you focus on the whole counsel of God, teach Christ in all of Scripture,

More information

I PETER Aliens, Chosen To Obey, Full of Grace and Peace July 29, 2012

I PETER Aliens, Chosen To Obey, Full of Grace and Peace July 29, 2012 I PETER Aliens, Chosen To Obey, Full of Grace and Peace July 29, 2012 I. Aliens, Chosen to Obey, Full of Grace and Peace A. I Peter 1:1-2...Peter, an apostle of Jesus Christ, To those who reside as aliens,

More information

The Body of Christ the Church

The Body of Christ the Church The Body of Christ the Church 3-11-2016 Revised 11-18-2017 1 Corinthians 12:25-26 so that there may be no division in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another. And if one member

More information

DAYS OF PRAYER PERSONAL PRAYER GUIDE 1 HEARTLAND CHURCH

DAYS OF PRAYER PERSONAL PRAYER GUIDE 1 HEARTLAND CHURCH DAYS OF PRAYER PERSONAL PRAYER GUIDE 1 HEARTLAND CHURCH 2 HEARTLAND CHURCH PERSONAL PRAYER GUIDE 21 DAYS OF PRAYER 3 4 HEARTLAND CHURCH PRAY FIRST Whenever God determines to do a great work, he first sets

More information

~ Jaco Kruger ~ ~

~ Jaco Kruger ~  ~ I am justified by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus; there is no condemnation and I am free from the law of sin and death. I am sanctified, called out of the world and given wisdom

More information

Jesus. The Way, The Truth, The Life

Jesus. The Way, The Truth, The Life Jesus The Way, The Truth, The Life Introduction John 14:6 Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me. 1. Jesus had just said: And where I go

More information

In the Army of Jesus Christ! Revised

In the Army of Jesus Christ! Revised In the Army of Jesus Christ! Revised 2-22-2018 When soldiers are in combat with others fighting beside them, they become very dependent on each other for survival and help in the battle. Before even going

More information

Read the Bible in a Year

Read the Bible in a Year Read the Bible in a Year All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work,

More information

JESUS CHRIST, THE SAME YESTERDAY AND TODAY AND FOREVER! Hebrews 13:8

JESUS CHRIST, THE SAME YESTERDAY AND TODAY AND FOREVER! Hebrews 13:8 JESUS CHRIST, THE SAME YESTERDAY AND TODAY AND FOREVER! Hebrews 13:8 Published by International Church of the Foursquare Gospel The setting apart of certain people for a ministry of spiritual leadership

More information

Paul s First Letter to Thessalonica Living in God s Will Lesson 1

Paul s First Letter to Thessalonica Living in God s Will Lesson 1 Paul s First Letter to Thessalonica Living in God s Will Lesson 1 This is the first letter to the Thessalonians and it was the first of Paul's letters. Paul wrote this letter while he was living in Corinth

More information

CHURCH OF HOPE EVANGELISM AND MINISTRY TRAINING COURSE BY AND WEBSITE: STUDY GUIDE: WEEK NINE

CHURCH OF HOPE EVANGELISM AND MINISTRY TRAINING COURSE BY  AND WEBSITE: STUDY GUIDE: WEEK NINE CHURCH OF HOPE EVANGELISM AND MINISTRY TRAINING COURSE BY EMAIL AND WEBSITE: STUDY GUIDE: WEEK NINE TOPIC EIGHT: BECOMING A LEADER OF INFLUENCE INTRODUCTION TO WEEK NINE: As we continue this week in the

More information

Introduction. God Gives Us This Great And Gracious Responsibility.

Introduction. God Gives Us This Great And Gracious Responsibility. Introduction Pray For Another Text: Selected Scriptures. Series: One Another Statements of the New Testament [#3] Date: January 23, 2011 Pastor Lyle L. Wahl Theme: Praying For One Another Is A Great And

More information

PHILOSOPHY OF MINISTRY

PHILOSOPHY OF MINISTRY PHILOSOPHY OF MINISTRY A FOUNDATION FOR PLANTING AND GROWING A CHURCH The Rev. Dennis Whalen Lighthouse Lutheran Church Freedom, PA 15042 I have been asked the question, How can I proceed in planting and

More information

Let s dig in and see what they find!

Let s dig in and see what they find! Join investigative reporter, Lulu, and Bukie, her lion cub companion, as they go in search of the TRUTH! There have been reports that there is a new kind of fruit that will change your life. Let s dig

More information

I Know My NT Bible Facts & Map Facts!

I Know My NT Bible Facts & Map Facts! I Know My NT Bible Facts &! What is Matthew What is Mark What is Luke What is John Nazareth Bethlehem Cana NT Level 1 I Know My NT Bible Facts &! What is Matthew What is Mark What is Luke What is John

More information

Discovery 8:5. Memorize. 2 Peter 1:5 7 5 Now for this very reason also, applying all diligence,

Discovery 8:5. Memorize. 2 Peter 1:5 7 5 Now for this very reason also, applying all diligence, Discovery 8:5 2 Peter 1:5 7 5 Now for this very reason also, applying all diligence, in your faith supply moral excellence, and in your moral excellence, knowledge, 6 And in your knowledge, self control,

More information

For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor un-circumcision avails anything, but a new creation. -Galatians 6:15

For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor un-circumcision avails anything, but a new creation. -Galatians 6:15 IN CHRIST I AM CONFESSIONS In Christ I am a new man Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. -2 Corinthians 5:17 For in

More information

Four C's for Evangelism

Four C's for Evangelism Four C's for Evangelism Copyright 1994 Duane L. Anderson American Indian Bible Institute Box 511 Norwalk, California 90651-0511 www.aibi.org Four C's for Evangelism Introduction: The Preparation of Disciples

More information

Apostles and the Church

Apostles and the Church The office of Apostle is the highest office in the church. Apostleship is the special ability that God grants selected men of the body of Christ that enables them to go out and create disciples by establishing

More information

Small Group Leadership Training Manual

Small Group Leadership Training Manual Small Group Leadership Training Manual by Duane L. Anderson Small Group Leadership Training Manual Copyright 1996 Duane L. Anderson Scripture quotations in this manual are from the New King James Version

More information

SUFFERING Part A - From Disobedience Part - B Suffering of Christ Part C - Dealing With Suffering as a Christian Compiled by Lewis A.

SUFFERING Part A - From Disobedience Part - B Suffering of Christ Part C - Dealing With Suffering as a Christian Compiled by Lewis A. SUFFERING Part A - From Disobedience Part - B Suffering of Christ Part C - Dealing With Suffering as a Christian Compiled by Lewis A. Armstrong 17 Part A - From Disobedience Exodus 3:7 Then the Lord said,

More information

Winnipeg Christian Family Ministry Inc. Statement of Faith. 1. Holy Scripture Bible

Winnipeg Christian Family Ministry Inc. Statement of Faith. 1. Holy Scripture Bible 2 Timothy 3:-17 New International Version (NIV) Statement of Faith 1. Holy Scripture Bible All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness,

More information

FAMILY COMMUNITY CHURCH ASSOCIATION STATEMENT OF FAITH MESSAGE

FAMILY COMMUNITY CHURCH ASSOCIATION STATEMENT OF FAITH MESSAGE FAMILY COMMUNITY CHURCH ASSOCIATION STATEMENT OF FAITH MESSAGE I. The Scriptures The Holy Bible was written by men who were divinely influenced. The Holy Bible is God's explaining Himself to man. It is

More information

Discussion Questions for the Whole Bible Story

Discussion Questions for the Whole Bible Story Discussion Questions for the Whole Bible Story Chapters 1 5 (From Creation to the Promised Land) 1. Why do you think Adam and Eve believed Satan s lie that if they ate the forbidden fruit they would not

More information

How do we know the Bible is true?

How do we know the Bible is true? 2/13/14 T&T Green UC Book 1 Bible Quiz Review 1 How do we know the Bible is true? Answer Bible Reference, Verse Bk Ref The Bible is God s Word Jeremiah 10:10a - But the LORD is the true God; He is the

More information

Acts Chapter Consider Paul s response to the Spirit in Acts 18:5b and ask the Lord to prepare your heart to obey the Spirit.

Acts Chapter Consider Paul s response to the Spirit in Acts 18:5b and ask the Lord to prepare your heart to obey the Spirit. Acts Chapter 18 Lesson 15 FIRST DAY: Review and Overview 1. How were you inspired by Acts Chapter 17? 2. Paul did not serve God alone in spreading the Gospel. God raised up men and women to serve with

More information

THE BOOK OF ACTS: LESSONS FOR CHURCH PLANTING

THE BOOK OF ACTS: LESSONS FOR CHURCH PLANTING THE BOOK OF ACTS: LESSONS FOR CHURCH PLANTING Addressing five questions: What can we learn from the role of the Holy Spirit in evangelism and church planting? What can we learn from the role of prayer

More information

New Testament Basics. Acts' Story. NT109 LESSON 05 of 10. Introduction. I. Luke s Message in Acts

New Testament Basics. Acts' Story. NT109 LESSON 05 of 10. Introduction. I. Luke s Message in Acts New Testament Basics NT109 LESSON 05 of 10 Dr. Sid Buzzell Experience: Dean of Christian University GlobalNet Introduction The next two lessons focus on the book of Acts, where Luke continues the Gospels

More information

A New Beginning: Setting a solid foundation for your new life in Christ

A New Beginning: Setting a solid foundation for your new life in Christ A New Beginning: Setting a solid foundation for your new life in Christ By Dave Quinn PASSIONAustralia.org www.passionaustralia.org Contents Introduction 3 Making sure of your salvation 5 Study 1 Assurance:

More information

Who I am in Christ 1

Who I am in Christ 1 My Identity in Christ Who I am in Christ 1 1 I am a child of God John 1:12 But as many as received Him, He gave to them authority to become the children of God, to those who believe on His name, Romans

More information

21 DAYS OF PRAYER & FASTING

21 DAYS OF PRAYER & FASTING 21 DAYS OF PRAYER & FASTING Crossroads 21 Days of Prayer & Fasting March 10th-30th, 2018 Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within

More information

1 Timothy 6:11-21 New American Standard Bible February 25, 2018

1 Timothy 6:11-21 New American Standard Bible February 25, 2018 1 Timothy 6:11-21 New American Standard Bible February 25, 2018 The International Bible Lesson (Uniform Sunday School Lessons Series) for Sunday, February 25, 2018, is from 1 Timothy 6:11-21. Questions

More information

Lesson Components Materials Teacher s Edition Student Activity Book (Preschool) and Student Edition (Kindergarten Grade 6) Resources CD

Lesson Components Materials Teacher s Edition Student Activity Book (Preschool) and Student Edition (Kindergarten Grade 6) Resources CD Scope and Sequence The list below provides a quick overview of the materials contained in the Purposeful Design Elementary Bible series. It is followed by an introduction to the series and sequential grade-by-grade

More information

The Bible Teaches Us About God (15 questions; numbers 1-15)

The Bible Teaches Us About God (15 questions; numbers 1-15) The Bible Teaches Us About God (15 questions; numbers 1-15) 1 15) 1. Who is God? God is the eternal and holy creator and keeper of the universe and the Savior of mankind (Genesis 1:1; Psalm 90:2; Hebrews

More information

Westminster Shorter Catechism Questions for Children. 2. Q. What else did God make? A. God made all things. Ref. Acts 17:25; John 6:29; Psalm 33:6-7

Westminster Shorter Catechism Questions for Children. 2. Q. What else did God make? A. God made all things. Ref. Acts 17:25; John 6:29; Psalm 33:6-7 Westminster Shorter Catechism Questions for Children 1. Q. Who made you? A. God Ref. Psalm 100:3; Genesis 1:27 2. Q. What else did God make? A. God made all things. Ref. Acts 17:25; John 6:29; Psalm 33:6-7

More information

What Does the Bible Say?

What Does the Bible Say? Teachings of the Bible In Mennonite Perspective Diocese-Based Leadership Training Program Mennonite Churches of East Africa (KMC/KMT) Joseph and Gloria Bontrager Theological Education Coordinators, 2015

More information

Sample Copy. core values & beliefs

Sample Copy. core values & beliefs core values & beliefs core values & beliefs forward Our core values and beliefs booklet is an attempt to provide a brief summary of who the Vineyard is and what we believe. Our Statement of Purpose is

More information

Integrity Church February 25, 2018

Integrity Church February 25, 2018 Series: Philippians Title: Working Out Your Salvation This morning as we jump back into our journey through Philippians I want to address a topic that has been both the source of comfort and discomfort

More information

5 Year Discipleship Bible Reading Plan

5 Year Discipleship Bible Reading Plan The Uniqueness of the 5 year Discipleship Reading Plan... 1. The Bible is the most important book in history because it is God's Word and His disclosure of Himself to us. Through the Bible we get to know

More information