Open with a Prayer: Our Father, Hail Mary. Review with the students the first three lines of the Apostle Creed and continue with the fourth line.

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "Open with a Prayer: Our Father, Hail Mary. Review with the students the first three lines of the Apostle Creed and continue with the fourth line."

Transcription

1 Rite of Christian Initiation for Children The Association for Catechumenal Ministry LESSON #5 The Sacraments of Initiation Objective: The students will learn that the Catholic Church has Seven Sacraments instituted by Christ while he was living on earth among us. The first three we will discuss are called the Sacraments of Initiation, because each one is a step we take to bring us more fully into the family of God. Open with a Prayer: Our Father, Hail Mary. Review with the students the first three lines of the Apostle Creed and continue with the fourth line. Teach: Today we are going to learn about the first three of the seven sacraments of the Catholic Church. These first three are called the Sacraments of Initiation (write words on board), because each of these sacraments welcome us more fully into the life of the Catholic Church. Remember from our second lesson when we talked about the reason Jesus came to be with us on earth (the PowerPoint)? We learned about the Old Testament covenants, the promises that God made with his Chosen People, the Children of Israel. He made covenants with Adam and Eve following the Fall, with Noah and his family after the Great Flood, with Abraham and his descendants after his test of faith, with Moses and the Children of Israel after the Exodus, and with David and the Kingdom of Israel. Every covenant reminded God s people that he was their God, that he alone was to be worshipped, and that he would love his people for ever. All his people needed to do was to follow God s laws and to do our best to live as children of God. But the Children of Israel kept forgetting how to live as God s children and even when they remembered they refused to follow God s ways but God still loved his people; so God finally fulfilled his promise to his people by sending his only Son, Jesus Christ, to live among us and to show us how to live as Children of God. Jesus gave us many ways to live as God wishes us to live: he taught us with the Beatitudes (which we will learn about in another lesson); he taught us through his parables or stories (which we will also learn about in another lesson); he showed us how to treat others through his own actions; and he also gave us seven beautiful Sacraments to allow us opportunities to experience God s grace and love. Each of these seven sacraments were given to us by Jesus and can be found in the New Testament scriptures

2 Today, we are going to begin learning about the Sacraments. The first three we are going to talk about are Baptism, First Eucharist [or First Holy Communion], and Confirmation. These are called the Sacraments of Initiation. Ask: 1. Who would like to tell us something you know about the Sacrament of Baptism? (answers will vary) 2. Who can tell us about when Jesus was baptized? (answers will vary) 3. How do we know that Jesus wants us to be baptized, too? Let s check the Bible. Ask the students to open their Bibles to Mt. 28:19; Mk. 16:15-16; Jn. 3:5-6 (check index to Bible for many, many scripture references to Baptism). 4. What happens to the person during Baptism? (wash away [Original] Sin, become sons and daughters in God s family, become one with Christ, and become part of the Catholic Church and its mission in the world.) Catechism of the Catholic Church: 1213 Holy Baptism is the basis of the whole Christian life, the gateway to life in the Spirit (vitae spiritualis ianua), and the door which gives access to the other sacraments. Through Baptism we are freed from sin and reborn as sons of God; we become members of Christ, are incorporated into the Church and made sharers in her mission: "Baptism is the sacrament of regeneration through water in the word." Ask the students to open their Bibles to Mt. 28:19; Mk. 16:15-16; Jn. 3:5-6 (check index to Bible for many, many scripture references to Baptism). THE RITE OF THE SACRAMENT OF BAPTISM (take student upstairs to Baptismal font) 53. When they come to the font, the celebrant briefly reminds the congregation of the wonderful work of God whose plan it is to sanctify man, body and soul, through water. He may use these or similar words: My dear brothers and sisters, we now ask God to give these children new life in abundance through water and the Holy Spirit. Blessing and Invocation of God over Baptismal Water 54. Then, turning to the font, he says the following blessing: Father, you give us grace through sacramental signs, which tell us of the wonders of your unseen power. In baptism we use your gift of water, which you have made a rich symbol of the grace you give us in this sacrament. At the very dawn of creation your Spirit breathed on the waters, making them the wellspring of all holiness. The waters of the great flood you made a sign of the waters of - 2 -

3 baptism that make an end of sin and a new beginning of goodness. Through the waters of the Red Sea you led Israel out of slavery to be an image of God s holy people, set free from sin by baptism. In the waters of the Jordan your Son was baptized by John and anointed with the Spirit. Your Son willed that water and blood should flow from his side as he hung upon the cross. After his resurrection he told his disciples: Go out and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Father, look now with love upon your Church and unseal for it the fountain of baptism. By the power of the Holy Spirit give to this water the grace of your Son, so that in the sacrament of baptism all those whom you have created in your likeness may be cleansed from sin and rise to a new birth of innocence by water and the Holy Spirit. The celebrant touches the water with his right hand and continues: We ask you, Father, with your Son to send the Holy Spirit upon the waters of this font. May all who are buried with Christ in the death of baptism rise also with him to newness of life. We ask this through Christ our Lord. All: Amen. Renunciation of Sin and Profession of Faith 55. The celebrant speaks to the parents and godparents in these words: Dear parents and godparents: You have come here to present these children for baptism. By water and the Holy Spirit they are to receive the gift of new life from God, who is love. On your part, you must make it your constant care to bring them up in the practice of the faith. See that the divine life which God gives them is kept safe from the poison of sin, to grow always stronger in their hearts. If your faith makes you ready to accept this responsibility, renew now the vows of your own baptism. Reject sin; profess your faith in Christ Jesus. This is the faith of the Church. This is the faith in which these children are about to be baptized. 56. The celebrant questions the parents and godparents. Celebrant: Do you reject Satan? Parents and godparents: I do. Celebrant: And all his works? Parents and godparents: I do. Celebrant: And all his empty promises? Parents and godparents: I do. 57. Next the celebrant asks for the threefold profession of faith from the parents and godparents: Celebrant: Do you believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth? - 3 -

4 Parents and godparents: I do. Celebrant: Do you believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, who was born of the Virgin Mary, was crucified, died, and was buried, rose from the dead, and is now seated at the right hand of the Father? Parents and godparents: I do. Celebrant: Do you believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting? Parents and godparents: I do. 58. The celebrant and the congregation give their assent to the profession of faith: Celebrant: This is our faith. This is the faith of the Church. We are proud to profess it, in Christ Jesus our Lord. All: Amen. Baptism 59. The celebrant invites the first of the families to the font. Using the name of the individual child, he questions the parents and godparents. Celebrant: Is it your will that N. should be baptized in the faith of the Church, which we have all professed with you? Parents and godparents: It is. He baptizes the child, saying: N., I baptize you in the name of the Father, He immerses the child or pours water upon it: and of the Son, He immerses the child or pours water upon it a second time: and of the Holy Spirit. He immerses the child or pours water upon it a third time. Anointing after Baptism 62. Then the celebrant says: God of power and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ has freed you from sin and brought you to new life through water and the Holy Spirit. He now anoints you with the chrism of salvation, so that, united with his people, you may remain for ever a member of Christ who is Priest, Prophet, and King. All: Amen. Next the celebrant anoints the child on the crown of the head with chrism, in silence

5 Clothing with White Garment 63. The celebrant says: (N.), you have become a new creation, and have clothed yourselves in Christ. See in this white garment the outward sign of your Christian dignity. With your family and friends to help you by word and example, bring that dignity unstained into the everlasting life of heaven. All: Amen. The white garments are put on the children. Lighted Candle 64. The celebrant takes the Easter candle and says: Receive the light of Christ. Someone from each family (e.g., the father or godfather) lights the child s candle from the Easter candle. The celebrant then says: Parents and godparents, this light is entrusted to you to be kept burning brightly. These children of yours have been enlightened by Christ. They are to walk always as children of the light. May they keep the flame of faith alive in their hearts. When the Lord comes, may they go out to meet him with all the saints in the heavenly kingdom. Ephephetha or Prayer over Ears and Mouth 65. The celebrant touches the ears and mouth of each child with his thumb, saying: The Lord Jesus made the deaf hear and the dumb speak. May he soon touch your ears to receive his word, and your mouth to proclaim his faith, to the praise and glory of God the Father. All: Amen. THE RITE OF THE SACRAMENT OF CONFIRMATION: The next sacrament we are going to talk about is the Sacrament of Confirmation. Confirmation is the completion of a person s Baptism. See if you can tell why. Renewal of Baptismal Promises After the homily, the candidates stand and the Bishop questions them. They respond together: Bishop: Do you reject Satan and all his works and all his empty promises? Candidates: I do - 5 -

6 Bishop: Do you believe in God, the Father Almighty Creator of heaven and earth? Candidates: I do Bishop: Do you believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, who was born of the Virgin Mary, was crucified, died, and was buried, rose from the dead, and is now seated at the right hand of the Father? Candidates: I do Bishop: Do you believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the giver of life, who came upon the apostles at Pentecost and today is given to you sacramentally in Confirmation? Candidates: I do Bishop: Do you believe in the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting? Candidates: I do Assent to the Profession of Faith Bishop: This is our faith. This is the faith of the Church. We are proud to profess it in Christ Jesus, Our Lord. Congregation Responds: AMEN Imposition of Hands The imposition of hands upon the candidates by the Bishop and concelebrating priests expresses the biblical gesture by which the gifts of the Holy Spirit are invoked. My dear friends: In baptism God the Father gave the new birth of eternal life to his chosen sons and daughters. Let us pray to our Father that he will pour out the Holy Spirit to strengthen his sons and daughters with his gifts and anoint them to be more like Christ the Son of God. All pray in silence for a short time. The Bishop and the Priests who assist him impose hands upon all the candidates. The Bishop alone sings or says: All-powerful God, Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, by water and the Holy Spirit you freed your sons and daughters from sin and gave them new life. Send your Holy Spirit upon them to be their helper and guide. Give them the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of right judgment and courage, the spirit of knowledge and reverence. Fill them with the spirit of wonder and awe in your presence. We ask this through Christ our Lord. Congregation Responds: AMEN - 6 -

7 Candidates and sponsors will come forward row by row to receive anointing. Anointing with Oil and Sign of Peace Through the anointing with chrism, the baptized person receives the indelible character, the seal of the Lord, together with the gift of the Holy Spirit which conforms the Confirmed more closely to Christ and gives him/her the grace of spreading the Lord s presence among others. Bishop: N, be sealed with the gift of the Holy Spirit. Newly Confirmed responds: Amen Bishop: Peace be with you. Newly Confirmed responds: And also with you. Emphasize: 1. Did you notice that the questions asked of the parents and godparents at Baptism were the same as those asked of the candidates at Confirmation? That is why the Sacrament of Confirmation is considered the fulfillment of a person s Baptism. At Confirmation, the individual has an opportunity to speak for himself or herself when answering (or confirming) the questions about his/her faith. 2. What else did you notice about each sacrament? (answers may vary; help the children to understand that each sacrament has a physical sign that points us to the inner grace or effect that we experience but do not see: Baptism sign = water and anointing with oil, the grace or effect = washing away of sin, member of God s family, members with Christ, part of Catholic Church and its mission; Confirmation sign = anointing with oil, the grace or effect = increased power of the Holy Spirit) THE HOLY EUCHARIST (FIRST HOLY COMMUNION): The last sacrament we are going to talk about today is the center of our worship in the Catholic faith The Holy Eucharist. Please open your Bibles to Lk. 22:7-20. We are going to read in scripture about how Jesus instituted the first Eucharist. After reading the scripture passage, teach: What do you think Jesus was telling his disciples in these passages? (answers will vary; he was sacrificing himself for them; he was making a new and ever-lasting covenant; he was creating a way that we can stay close to him; he was teaching us about self-sacrificing love, etc.). Explain: When Jesus celebrated the Last Supper with his disciples, he was actually sharing the Passover meal (The Feast of Unleavened Bread) with them. The Passover meal is still celebrated every year to remind the Children of Israel about how God saved them from - 7 -

8 slavery in Egypt and brought them through the desert with Moses to the Promised Land. Part of the tradition of the meal is to share unleavened bread and cups of wine. Special prayers are said throughout the meal. As we go through the Eucharistic Prayers, we will talk about moments within the Mass that our prayers are very similar to the Jewish prayers of the Passover meal. Liturgy of the Eucharist (hand out Missals to each student WHICH THEY WILL KEEP): Offertory - Preparation of the Altar: The altar is set to receive the gifts of bread and wine from the people of the congregation; it is similar to the table upon which Jewish families would celebrate their weekly Sabbath Meal (Shabbat). Preparation and the Offering of the Gifts: The gifts are brought forward, handed to the priest, and placed on the altar. The priest acknowledges the goodness of God and the blessing that these gifts are to us and to the church. Following the Blessing, the priest asks the congregation to join in offering the gifts to God. The wording of these prayers is very similar to the words that are used during Shabbat (the Sabbath) and in the Seder Meal during the Jewish celebration of the Passover: Blessing the Wine at Shabbat and Passover: A kiddish cup is filled to the rim (to represent being filled with joy) with kosher wine or grape juice, and the blessing over the wine is recited. This blessing is called Kiddush, which means sanctification. Wine is poured into a silver cup, blessed, and thus sanctified: Blessed art Thou, O Lord our God, King of the universe, Creator of the fruit of the vine. (Ask children to find similar words in the Eucharistic Prayer) Another action of the Jewish Shabbat and Passover meal is breaking the matzo (the unleavened bread). The leader lifts up the matzo and says: Blessed are art Thou, Lord, our God, king of the universe who brings forth bread from the earth. (Ask children to find similar words in the Eucharistic Prayer) Washing of the Hands: Signifies the great care and purity with which we should approach the altar. The ritualistic washing of hands is also part of Jewish tradition. Prayers over the Gifts: These begin with the responses, The Lord be with you; And also with you; Lift up your hearts; We lift them up to the Lord; Let us give thanks to the Lord our God; It is right to give him thanks and praise

9 Following these responses, the priest will pray the appropriate preface for this particular Mass. Eucharistic Prayer (holiest part of the Mass)- Sanctus: Holy, holy, holy Lord, God of power and might, heaven and earth are full of your glory. Hosanna in the highest. Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord. Hosanna in the highest. Invocation of the Holy Spirit (Epiclesis): Let your spirit come down upon these gifts to make them Holy so that they may become for us the Body and Blood (sign of the cross over the bread and wine) of our Lord, Jesus Christ. Consecration: This is my Body which will be given up for you this is the cup of my Blood, the blood of the new and everlasting covenant. The bread and wine become the Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity of Christ at this point [Transubstantiation]. Offering to the Father: In memory of his death and resurrection, we offer you, Father, this life-giving bread, this saving cup. We thank you for counting us worthy to stand in your presence and serve you. May all of us who share in the Body and Blood of Christ be brought together in unity by the Holy Spirit. Doxology: Through him, with him, in him, in the unity of the Holy Spirit, all glory and honor is yours, almighty Father, forever and ever. Emphasize: The Catholic Church teaches that at the time the priest says the words of the consecration, the bread and wine really, truly becomes the actual Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity of Jesus Christ; and that, as we partake of the Holy Eucharist, we are allowing Christ to nourish us and become part of our own bodies. This is the grace or effect we receive in the Sacrament of the Holy Eucharist. This is a great mystery of the Church and is one that we are asked to accept in faith. Let s conclude this lesson by asking Jesus to help us to receive this mystery in faith and with his grace. (Include this with your concluding prayer below) Conclude with a Hail Mary, the Lord s Prayer, and the first four lines of the Apostle s Creed

10 THE APOSTLES CREED The Apostles Creed is the Church s statement of beliefs. If you read the creed carefully, you can see that what it is really saying is that we believe in God, in His son Jesus Christ, and in the Holy Spirit. It also says we believe in the holy Catholic Church, in the community of all saints, in the forgiveness of sins, and in eternal life with God in heaven. Most theologians agree that the creed was created within the first 100 to 200 years after Jesus death and resurrection. Over the years, the words have changed but only very slightly. Every Sunday at Mass, the entire congregation recites another version of the creed called The Nicene Creed. It is a little longer, but it is the same set of beliefs. I believe in God, The Father Almighty, Creator of heaven and earth; And in Jesus Christ, His only Son, Our Lord, Who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, Born of the Virgin Mary. He suffered under Pontius Pilate, Was crucified, died, and was buried. He descended into Hell. On the third day he rose again. He ascended into heaven, And is seated at the right hand of God, The Father Almighty. He will come again to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Spirit, The holy Catholic Church, The communion of saints, The forgiveness of sins, The resurrection of the body, And life everlasting. Amen

RITE OF CONFIRMATION LITURGY PREPARATION GUIDE Diocese of Fairbanks Revised 2008

RITE OF CONFIRMATION LITURGY PREPARATION GUIDE Diocese of Fairbanks Revised 2008 RITE OF CONFIRMATION LITURGY PREPARATION GUIDE Diocese of Fairbanks Revised 2008 Parish Address Contact Person Email Phone Date of Celebration Time Vestment color (see Guidelines) Number of Confirmandi

More information

Amended Rite of Confirmation within Mass 2. Excerpt Ritual Masses; For the Conferral of Confirmation 10

Amended Rite of Confirmation within Mass 2. Excerpt Ritual Masses; For the Conferral of Confirmation 10 THE RITE OF CONFIRMATION AND THE ROMAN MISSAL Table of Contents Highlights of Revisions 1 Amended Rite of Confirmation within Mass 2 Excerpt Ritual Masses; For the Conferral of Confirmation 10 Excerpt

More information

PART TWO THE CELEBRATION OF THE CHRISTIAN MYSTERY

PART TWO THE CELEBRATION OF THE CHRISTIAN MYSTERY PART TWO THE CELEBRATION OF THE CHRISTIAN MYSTERY SECTION TWO THE SEVEN SACRAMENTS OF THE CHURCH CHAPTER ONE THE SACRAMENTS OF CHRISTIAN INITIATION ARTICLE 1 THE SACRAMENT OF BAPTISM 1213 Holy Baptism

More information

HOLY BAPTISM TWO. Holy Baptism Two when used as a stand alone service 357

HOLY BAPTISM TWO. Holy Baptism Two when used as a stand alone service 357 HOLY BAPTISM TWO Pastoral Introduction Baptism marks the beginning of a journey with God which continues for the rest of our lives, the first step in response to God s love. For all involved, particularly

More information

Signs of life are signs of hope, pointing to a future and to new experience.

Signs of life are signs of hope, pointing to a future and to new experience. St Gregory s College Sacramental Programme Signs of Life Signs of life are signs of hope, pointing to a future and to new experience. The miracle of life is all around us. The touch of a hand, a fleeting

More information

Diocese of San Diego GUIDELINES FOR CELEBRATION OF THE SACRAMENT OF CONFIRMATION. Candidates/Newly Confirmed

Diocese of San Diego GUIDELINES FOR CELEBRATION OF THE SACRAMENT OF CONFIRMATION. Candidates/Newly Confirmed LITURGY-1 2/1/2018 Diocese of San Diego GUIDELINES FOR CELEBRATION OF THE SACRAMENT OF CONFIRMATION Candidates/Newly Confirmed Those receiving the Sacrament of Confirmation should be called candidates

More information

The Signs of Baptism: A Shower of Gifts

The Signs of Baptism: A Shower of Gifts The Signs of Baptism: A Shower of Gifts Catherine Maresca The Church is abundant in showering gifts on its newest members. Through Baptism, God gives the joy of the risen life of Christ, the strength of

More information

Easter Vigil Mass. St Teresa of Avila. April 19, 2014

Easter Vigil Mass. St Teresa of Avila. April 19, 2014 Easter Vigil Mass St Teresa of Avila April 19, 2014 Easter Vigil Mass The rubrics remind us that this mother of all vigils is the greatest and most noble of all solemnities and it is to be unique in every

More information

RENEWAL SERVICES THE PASCHAL MYSTERY IN THE CHURCH S SACRAMENTS CATECHISM OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH - FOUR THE LITURGY WORK OF THE HOLY TRINITY

RENEWAL SERVICES THE PASCHAL MYSTERY IN THE CHURCH S SACRAMENTS CATECHISM OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH - FOUR THE LITURGY WORK OF THE HOLY TRINITY RENEWAL SERVICES Diocese of Rockville Centre, 50 North Park Avenue, P.O. Box 9023, Rockville Centre, New York,11571-9023 jpalmer@drvc.org Phone number 516 678 5800 Ext 408 THE LITURGY WORK OF THE HOLY

More information

TOPIC 18: BAPTISM AND CONFIRMATION

TOPIC 18: BAPTISM AND CONFIRMATION TOPIC 18: BAPTISM AND CONFIRMATION BAPTISM 1. Institution Among the numerous foreshadowings of Baptism in the Old Testament, some stand out because they are cited in the New Testament as explicitly connected

More information

Celebration of Mass. Concluding Rite

Celebration of Mass. Concluding Rite Celebration of Mass All: And also with you. Priest: The Lord be with you. Concluding Rite The Priest will now kisses the altar again Dismissal like he did when he began the Liturgy. It is like showing

More information

Christ Church Grosse Pointe

Christ Church Grosse Pointe Christ Church Grosse Pointe All Saints Sunday November 5, 2017 5:30 pm & 8 am Welcome to this service of Holy Eucharist at Christ Church Grosse Pointe. We hope that this service will help lift you to the

More information

Level 2: RC Rite of Baptism

Level 2: RC Rite of Baptism Level 2: RC Rite of Baptism Text Cards 1 Nine text cards Handprint text onto white card stock Trim to 5 ½ inches wide x 7 ½ inches long (or 5 x 7) The width needs to match the width of the Rite of Baptism

More information

Christ Church Grosse Pointe

Christ Church Grosse Pointe Christ Church Grosse Pointe The First Sunday after Christmas December 30/31, 2017 5:30 pm & 8 am Welcome to this service of Holy Eucharist at Christ Church Grosse Pointe. We hope that this service will

More information

First Holy Communion Questions

First Holy Communion Questions First Holy Communion Questions 1.) What is a Sacrament? A sacrament is an outward sign made by Christ to give grace. 2.) What are the seven sacraments? Baptism, Reconciliation, Holy Eucharist, Confirmation,

More information

SAINT THOMAS AQUINAS CATHOLIC CHURCH BAPTISM PREPARATION PROGRAM FOR PARENTS AND GODPARENTS

SAINT THOMAS AQUINAS CATHOLIC CHURCH BAPTISM PREPARATION PROGRAM FOR PARENTS AND GODPARENTS SAINT THOMAS AQUINAS CATHOLIC CHURCH BAPTISM PREPARATION PROGRAM FOR PARENTS AND GODPARENTS INTRODUCTION: Welcome to this time of preparation for the Baptism. If his is the first time that you have attended

More information

He is Risen! Easter Sunrise Service April 5, 2015

He is Risen! Easter Sunrise Service April 5, 2015 He is Risen! Easter Sunrise Service April 5, 2015 119 Cobblestone Court Spring Mills, PA 16875 Phone: 422-8417 www.newhopespringmills.org 2 (Please Gather Outside Weather Permitting) THE CONGREGATION GATHERS

More information

Confirmation Study Guide

Confirmation Study Guide Confirmation Study Guide 1. What is a sacrament? A holy, visible sign instituted by Christ of an invisible reality. It is an encounter with God that draws us closer to Him. 2. What is actual grace? Actual

More information

Explanatory Notes. Note: Text in red print = rubrics from the Roman Missal (or from the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults where indicated)

Explanatory Notes. Note: Text in red print = rubrics from the Roman Missal (or from the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults where indicated) Explanatory Notes The following is the text for the celebration of The Easter Vigil in the Holy Night with both Elect & Candidates (unbaptized and baptized). The order of service varies slightly if the

More information

Christ Church Grosse Pointe

Christ Church Grosse Pointe Christ Church Grosse Pointe The Fifth Sunday after the Epiphany February 4, 2018 8 am Welcome to this service of Holy Eucharist at Christ Church Grosse Pointe. We hope that this service will help lift

More information

BAPTISM CONFIRMATION

BAPTISM CONFIRMATION BAPTISM CONFIRMATION Pastoral Letter 2017-2018 To all the Catholics of the Apostolic Vicariate of Northern Arabia Bishop Camillo Ballin, mccj 0 Introduction Dear brothers, sisters, and fellow priests,

More information

an Order of Service for HOLY BAPTISM

an Order of Service for HOLY BAPTISM an Order of Service for HOLY BAPTISM ST JOHN S ANGLICAN CHURCH 86 Clendon Rd, Toorak, Victoria PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE FROM THE CHURCH 2 3 A PASTORAL NOTE Baptism marks the beginning of a journey with God

More information

A CELEBRATION of Healing and Wholeness for the Feast of St Luke

A CELEBRATION of Healing and Wholeness for the Feast of St Luke We sing the final HYMN God! When human bonds are broken and we lack the love or skill to restore the hope of healing, give us grace and make us still. Through that stillness, with your Spirit come into

More information

Vocabulary List for Grade 1

Vocabulary List for Grade 1 Vocabulary List for Grade 1 Word altar apostles Baptism Bible Blessed Trinity Christmas Church commandments creation Easter Sunday gospel reading grace Holy Family Lord's Prayer Mass parish pastor peacemaker

More information

Our Mission of Love THE CHURCH CARRIES ON JESUS MISSION TEACHER S MANUAL. A program to encourage you and your child to grow in faith together.

Our Mission of Love THE CHURCH CARRIES ON JESUS MISSION TEACHER S MANUAL. A program to encourage you and your child to grow in faith together. I M A G E O F G O D S E R I E S A program to encourage you and your child to grow in faith together. TEACHER S MANUAL 5 Our Mission of Love THE CHURCH CARRIES ON JESUS MISSION Second Edition CONTENTS Introduction..

More information

WEEKDAY COMMUNION SERVICES IN THE PARISH

WEEKDAY COMMUNION SERVICES IN THE PARISH 1 WEEKDAY COMMUNION SERVICES IN THE PARISH A. COMMUNION SERVICE OUTLINE A. Introductory Rites Greeting Penitential Act B. Celebration of the Word of God [Reflection by deacon (not a lay leader), or sharing

More information

March 13, 2012 Age 7 PASSOVER TO EUCHARIST SESSION

March 13, 2012 Age 7 PASSOVER TO EUCHARIST SESSION March 13, 2012 Age 7 PASSOVER TO EUCHARIST SESSION 2 nd GRADE: Gathering Wordsearch LITURGICAL YEAR / FEAST DAYS CATHOLIC TRADITION WEEKLY READINGS Fourth Sunday of Lent Liturgical Week Weekly readings

More information

Presentation of the Creed and Recitation of the Creed in the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults and the revised translations in the Roman Missal

Presentation of the Creed and Recitation of the Creed in the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults and the revised translations in the Roman Missal Presentation of the Creed and Recitation of the Creed in the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults and the revised translations in the Roman Missal It makes good sense to use the revised English translations

More information

The Mass. Celebration of the Holy Eucharist. RCIA October 10, 2013

The Mass. Celebration of the Holy Eucharist. RCIA October 10, 2013 The Mass Celebration of the Holy Eucharist RCIA October 10, 2013 The Sacrifice of the Holy Eucharist dates back to the early Church and is spoken of as early as the 2 nd century in the writings of the

More information

Celebration of Confirmation. Feast of the Holy Trinity Sunday 31 May 2015 Church of St. Alphonse, Luxembourg

Celebration of Confirmation. Feast of the Holy Trinity Sunday 31 May 2015 Church of St. Alphonse, Luxembourg ! Celebration of Confirmation Feast of the Holy Trinity Sunday 31 May 2015 Church of St. Alphonse, Luxembourg Confirmation 2015 Andrich Marco Barrett Grayson John Carretero Álvarez Pablo Carroll Liam Costa

More information

Sixth Sunday after Pentecost

Sixth Sunday after Pentecost Sixth Sunday after Pentecost Holy Baptism, Rite II June 26, 2016 Trinity Episcopal Church Parkersburg, WV The Rev. Paul L. Hicks, Priest in Charge Prelude (Eternal Lord of Love, Behold Your Church - setting:

More information

EASTER DAY 10AM The Holy Eucharist with Holy Baptism Ava Nadia Magpantay

EASTER DAY 10AM The Holy Eucharist with Holy Baptism Ava Nadia Magpantay We are one body, alleluia, for though many we share one bread. All who wish to come are welcome for this is the table of the Risen Lord The words of administration are: The body of Christ, the bread of

More information

Introductory Rites Veneration of the Altar. Sign of the Cross In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. (Mt 28:19) Amen.

Introductory Rites Veneration of the Altar. Sign of the Cross In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. (Mt 28:19) Amen. The Order of Weekday Mass (5-6-7-8 th Grade Edition) Preparation Meditation (Engage: As you pray in preparation for the Mass to begin, be aware of God s presence. Review the last day or few days and think

More information

He is risen indeed! Alleluia!

He is risen indeed! Alleluia! Christ is arisen! He is risen indeed! Alleluia! The Festival of the Resurrection of Our Lord Seminary Chapel April 27, 2017 HYMN Come, You Faithful, Raise the Strain CW 142 Stand for the final stanza.

More information

Note: The following terms are listed in their sequence of the Mass.

Note: The following terms are listed in their sequence of the Mass. Celebration of Mass Mass The common name for the Eucharistic liturgy of the Catholic Church. Also referred to as Eucharist, Celebration of the Liturgy, Eucharistic celebration, Sacrifice of the Mass or

More information

The Order for the Administration of The Lord s Supper or Holy Communion, The Holy Eucharist

The Order for the Administration of The Lord s Supper or Holy Communion, The Holy Eucharist The Order for the Administration of The Lord s Supper or Holy Communion, commonly called The Holy Eucharist Standard Text Approved for Provincial Use The Anglican Church in North America Petertide, A.D.

More information

DIOCESE OF FARGO Bishops Boulevard, Suite A Fargo, North Dakota Phone:

DIOCESE OF FARGO Bishops Boulevard, Suite A Fargo, North Dakota Phone: Dear Catechist, August 1, 2017 DIOCESE OF FARGO 5201 Bishops Boulevard, Suite A Fargo, North Dakota 58104-7605 www.fargodiocese.org/catechesis Phone: 701.356.7900 Three years ago, Bishop Folda requested

More information

CHANTS FOR THE EUCHARISTIC PRAYER

CHANTS FOR THE EUCHARISTIC PRAYER CHANTS FOR THE EUCHARISTIC PRAYER 1264 EUCHARISTIC PRAYER I CHANTS FOR THE EUCHARISTIC PRAYER 1265 1266 EUCHARISTIC PRAYER I (Another of the concelebrants) (proper formulas, pp. 1275-1280): CHANTS FOR

More information

Believe Chapter 5: Identity in Christ

Believe Chapter 5: Identity in Christ Key Verse: Yet to all who did receive him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God. John 1:12 (NIV) The word right (exousia) may be misleading since it suggests a

More information

T HE M ASS E XPLAINED WHY DO WE DO WHAT WE DO AT MASS?

T HE M ASS E XPLAINED WHY DO WE DO WHAT WE DO AT MASS? BLESSING With the final blessing of the celebrant, the Mass is ended. We leave the Church with this mandate: "GO IN PEACE TO LOVE AND SERVE THE LORD." The dismissal reminds us that the only way to serve

More information

Alb Cincture Stole Chasuble

Alb Cincture Stole Chasuble Teaching Mass Each Sunday we go to Church to celebrate Mass because Jesus told us to. Jesus started this Tradition at the Last Supper before He was crucified. At the Mass, we come together as disciples

More information

The Paschal Mystery. From the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy [CSL] Insight from the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy

The Paschal Mystery. From the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy [CSL] Insight from the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy Insight from the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy The Paschal Mystery Logo and other material from The 50th Anniversary of the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy: A Parish Celebration. Chicago: Liturgy

More information

PARISH PREPARING FOR CONFIRMATION. Using Faith First Legacy Edition / Parish Junior High Church and Sacraments

PARISH PREPARING FOR CONFIRMATION. Using Faith First Legacy Edition / Parish Junior High Church and Sacraments Legacy Edition PARISH PREPARING FOR CONFIRMATION Using Faith First Junior High Church and Sacraments PREPARING FOR CONFIRMATION Using Faith First Junior High Church and Sacraments Joanne Pescrille-Ryn

More information

OLP Hymnboard - Saturday, July 25, 2015

OLP Hymnboard - Saturday, July 25, 2015 OLP Hymnboard - Saturday, July 25, 2015 SEVENTEENTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME Special Edition for visiting choirs from Davidson United Methodist Church, NC At the Eucharist, the Church comes together to

More information

Kindergarten Vocabulary

Kindergarten Vocabulary Kindergarten Vocabulary Advent a time to get ready to celebrate the coming of the Son of God. (CCC #522-524) Alleluia: means praise God. Sung or recited before the Gospel except during Lent. Altar: the

More information

The effect of the Spirit s action is the same over the gifts and over us there is transformation, change

The effect of the Spirit s action is the same over the gifts and over us there is transformation, change Notre Dame Videos June, 2009 Video 4 Eucharistic Prayer as Transformative and Missioning [Slide 4-1] Hello. I m Dayton, Ohio Precious Blood Sister Joyce Ann Zimmerman. We meet for this fourth and final

More information

Celebrating SUNDAY MASS is the way we follow the Lord s command, Do this in memory of me.

Celebrating SUNDAY MASS is the way we follow the Lord s command, Do this in memory of me. Narrator: This weekend I will be acting as commentator throughout the mass. View these next two weekends as Teaching Masses. Today we will cover the Liturgy of the Word and next weekend the Liturgy of

More information

Joy Kids. Our Church Service. Joy Lutheran Church 9940 S. Yale Ave. Tulsa, OK (918)

Joy Kids. Our Church Service. Joy Lutheran Church 9940 S. Yale Ave. Tulsa, OK (918) Joy Kids Our Church Service Joy Lutheran Church 9940 S. Yale Ave. Tulsa, OK 74137 (918) 299-3292 Page 2 Liturgical Colors Black The liturgical color for Ash Wednesday symbolizing ashes, mourning and death.

More information

A worship guide for children

A worship guide for children A worship guide for children Welcome And they were bringing children to him that he might touch them, and the disciples rebuked them. But when Jesus saw it, he was indignant and said to them, Let the children

More information

We Belong. Restored Order Session 1 Whole Community Ritual. Gathering Rite. Celebration of the Word. Before the Celebration.

We Belong. Restored Order Session 1 Whole Community Ritual. Gathering Rite. Celebration of the Word. Before the Celebration. Restored Order Session 1 Whole Community Ritual We Belong Choose a gathering space that will be conducive to prayer and to accommodate the size of the group; the church, a chapel, or a gathering place

More information

The Order for the Eucharist during Advent

The Order for the Eucharist during Advent Dismissal prayers: Our Lord says, I am coming soon. Come, Lord Jesus. May the Lord, when he comes, find us watching and waiting. Spirit of energy and change, in whose power Jesus was anointed to be the

More information

Confirmation Information Packet

Confirmation Information Packet Saint Bartholomew Church Office of Religious Education 470 Ryders Lane East Brunswick, NJ 08816 732 390 0354 www.stbartseb.com Confirmation Information Packet Confirmation Prayer GOD, OUR FATHER, WE ASK

More information

Christian Initiation, General Introduction

Christian Initiation, General Introduction Christian Initiation, General Introduction 1. In the sacraments of Christian initiation we are freed from the power of darkness and joined to Christ s death, burial, and resurrection. We receive the Spirit

More information

Greeting The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, the love of God, and the communion of Holy Spirit be with you all. And also with you.

Greeting The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, the love of God, and the communion of Holy Spirit be with you all. And also with you. Prelude GATHERING Gathering Hymn How Great Thou Art Hymn No. 856 Greeting The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, the love of God, and the communion of Holy Spirit be with you all. And also with you. Kyrie

More information

CATHOLIC ELEMENTARY AND MIDDLE SCHOOL. RELIGION Curriculum Guide

CATHOLIC ELEMENTARY AND MIDDLE SCHOOL. RELIGION Curriculum Guide CATHOLIC ELEMENTARY AND MIDDLE SCHOOL RELIGION Curriculum Guide November 2011 MISSION STATEMENT The Catholic schools of the Archdiocese of Portland, participating in the educational mission of the Catholic

More information

PREPARING TO CELEBRATE THE ORDER OF CONFIRMATION. Resource Booklet

PREPARING TO CELEBRATE THE ORDER OF CONFIRMATION. Resource Booklet PREPARING TO CELEBRATE THE ORDER OF CONFIRMATION Resource Booklet Updated 17 February 2016 Front cover: Unknown French Goldsmith, The Pentecost (1150-1160) 2 TABLE OF CONTENTS INTRODUCTION 4 FREQUENTLY

More information

The Ten Commandments The Introduction. The First Commandment

The Ten Commandments The Introduction. The First Commandment The Ten Commandments The Introduction I am the Lord your God. 2010 Sola Publishing & ReClaim Resources. All rights reserved. Used by permission. 1 The First Commandment You shall have no other gods before

More information

The Burial of the Dead: Rite Two

The Burial of the Dead: Rite Two The Burial of the Dead: Rite Two All stand while one or more of the following anthems are sung or said. A hymn, psalm, or some other suitable anthem may be sung instead. I am Resurrection and I am Life,

More information

THE ORDER OF CONFIRMATION

THE ORDER OF CONFIRMATION THE ORDER OF CONFIRMATION LITURGICAL GUIDELINES The following pages present some directives and helpful information for those responsible for the planning of a parish celebration of the Order of Confirmation.

More information

An English Prayer Book Holy Communion (1)

An English Prayer Book Holy Communion (1) Holy Communion First Order The background to Holy Communion is given in a number of Bible passages. Exodus 12 tells the story of the Passover. Jesus developed the Passover meal into the Lord's Supper or

More information

The font should occupy a prominent place within the church building and be large enough to hold a substantial quantity of water.

The font should occupy a prominent place within the church building and be large enough to hold a substantial quantity of water. Baptism of a Child Introduction Baptism is a sacrament of the church. It is not a private ceremony. It takes place within the context of congregational worship in the church attended by the child and her/his

More information

CATHOLIC PARENT KNOWHOW. Sample for Review Only Do Not Reproduce HOW TO BE A. Godparent YOUR QUESTIONS. answered

CATHOLIC PARENT KNOWHOW. Sample for Review Only Do Not Reproduce HOW TO BE A. Godparent YOUR QUESTIONS. answered CATHOLIC PARENT KNOWHOW HOW TO BE A Godparent YOUR QUESTIONS answered Dear Godparents, CATHOLIC PARENT KNOWHOW It Is an Awesome Responsibility Congratulations! You have been invited to be a Godparent!

More information

The Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments The Ten Commandments The First Commandment You shall have no other gods. We should fear, love and trust in God above all things. The Second Commandment You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God.

More information

The Holy Eucharist the feast of christ the king

The Holy Eucharist the feast of christ the king Saint Mark s episcopal cathedral The Holy Eucharist the feast of christ the king November 26, 2017 8:00 am Newcomers and visitors, the community of Saint Mark s welcomes you. We hope that you will feel

More information

Catechesis for Confirmation

Catechesis for Confirmation Catechesis for Confirmation When the day of Pentecost came it found them gathered in one place... All were filled with the Holy Spirit. They began to express themselves in foreign tongues and make bold

More information

CORRELATION 2014 School Edition to the Archdiocese of Seattle Religion Curriculum Guidelines Grades 1 6

CORRELATION 2014 School Edition to the Archdiocese of Seattle Religion Curriculum Guidelines Grades 1 6 CORRELATION of 2014 School Edition to the Archdiocese of Seattle Religion Curriculum Guidelines Grades 1 6 Table of Contents Correlation of Alive in Christ School Edition...1 Grade 1...2 Grade 2...20 Grade

More information

When you are born you have original sin. You inherited original sin from the sin of Adam and Eve. (True) (True)

When you are born you have original sin. You inherited original sin from the sin of Adam and Eve. (True) (True) When you are born you have original sin. The Sacrament of Baptism is the first Sacrament because it is the door to the Church and no other Sacrament can be received without it. You inherited original sin

More information

Celebrating the Paschal Mystery of Christ. Liturgy Sacraments. Chapter 14 US Catechism of the Catholic Church

Celebrating the Paschal Mystery of Christ. Liturgy Sacraments. Chapter 14 US Catechism of the Catholic Church Celebrating the Paschal Mystery of Christ Liturgy Sacraments Chapter 14 US Catechism of the Catholic Church What is Liturgy? CCC 1069 The word liturgy (Greek term liturgia) originally meant a public work

More information

Liturgical Guidelines for Confirmation. (Dec. 2013)

Liturgical Guidelines for Confirmation. (Dec. 2013) Liturgical Guidelines for Confirmation (Dec. 2013) INTRODUCTION The celebration of the sacrament of confirmation remains an important event in the life of the Church, including those to be confirmed and

More information

The Celebration and Blessing of a Marriage

The Celebration and Blessing of a Marriage The Celebration and Blessing of a Marriage with the Holy Eucharist The Gathering of the Community The people stand. The bride and bridegroom stand before the celebrant. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ,

More information

Grade 7 WORKBOOK CALLED TO WITNESS

Grade 7 WORKBOOK CALLED TO WITNESS Candidate s Name: Phone #: Catechist s Name: Room #: Grade 7 WORKBOOK CALLED TO WITNESS LIVING THE SACRAMENTAL COMMITMENT Confirmation Preparation Process St. Mary s Parish, Manhasset, New York Unpublished

More information

How are the two chief mysteries of the faith expressed by the Sign of the Cross? How is the Sign of the Cross made? What is the Apostles Creed?

How are the two chief mysteries of the faith expressed by the Sign of the Cross? How is the Sign of the Cross made? What is the Apostles Creed? Chapter: 1 Q. 1 Chapter: 1 Q. 2 How is the Sign of the Cross made? How are the two chief mysteries of the faith expressed by the Sign of the Cross? Chapter: 1 Q. 3 Chapter: 1 Q. 4 What are the truths revealed

More information

THIRD SUNDAY AFTER THE EPIPHANY

THIRD SUNDAY AFTER THE EPIPHANY THIRD SUNDAY AFTER THE EPIPHANY Newcomers and visitors, we welcome you warmly. May you find here, by the grace of God, that which feeds your soul. May you leave here with a heart prepared to serve. If

More information

THE ORDER OF THE MASS 3337

THE ORDER OF THE MASS 3337 THE ORDER OF MASS THE ORDER OF THE MASS 3337 The Introductory Rites 1. When the people are gathered, the Priest approaches the altar with the ministers while the Entrance Chant is sung. When he has arrived

More information

Baptisms at Rye Presbyterian Church

Baptisms at Rye Presbyterian Church Baptisms at Rye Presbyterian Church 882 Boston Post Road, Rye, NY 10580 Telephone (914) 967-0842 Fax (914) 967-0267 www.ryepc.com September 2012 What is Baptism? Baptism is one of the two sacraments recognized

More information

Communion of the Sick at Nursing Homes

Communion of the Sick at Nursing Homes Communion of the Sick at Nursing Homes 2011 3 INTRODUCTION With the implementation of the new translation of the Roman Missal, it is time to improve the Communion Services we offer to our parishioners

More information

The Sacrament of Baptism

The Sacrament of Baptism The Sacrament of Baptism Sacrament of Baptism Baptism is the first sacrament that we receive that will give us grace. When we are baptized, the darkness of the soul (which we call original sin) is replaced

More information

Policy for Confirmation with Mass 1

Policy for Confirmation with Mass 1 Policy for with Mass A. What is Needed before the Ceremony A tray with lemon slices, pieces of bread and liquid soap A towel Two vessels of adequate size for the washing of the hands: one to be used after

More information

THE HOLY SPIRIT. Doctrinal Catechesis Session Mary Birmingham

THE HOLY SPIRIT. Doctrinal Catechesis Session Mary Birmingham Doctrinal Catechesis Session Mary Birmingham THE HOLY SPIRIT Pentecost: This icon is the part of the iconostasis of the Greek Catholic Cathedral of Hajdúdorog, Hungary. The icon was painted around 1810.

More information

Altar Server Handbook. Holy Family Catholic Parish. Modesto, CA

Altar Server Handbook. Holy Family Catholic Parish. Modesto, CA Altar Server Handbook Holy Family Catholic Parish Modesto, CA 2015 v 1.0 - October 4, 2014 v1.1 - February 22, 2015 changed timing of removal of Lectionary from Altar v1.2 - March 9, 2015 merged cover

More information

A GUIDE TO THE SERVICE OF HOLY COMMUNION

A GUIDE TO THE SERVICE OF HOLY COMMUNION BEFORE THE SERVICE A GUIDE TO THE SERVICE OF HOLY COMMUNION From A Prayer Book for Australia (1995) The Anglican Church of Australia You will have been handed a pew slip (usually a single A4 sheet of paper

More information

God Sends His Son. How do we know that heaven exists? What is salvation history? Is it important to keep heaven in mind?

God Sends His Son. How do we know that heaven exists? What is salvation history? Is it important to keep heaven in mind? 32 BASIC CATECHISM Right now we see indistinctly, as in a mirror, but then we will see face to face (1 Cor 13: 12). How do we know that heaven exists? God has told us that heaven exists; Jesus spoke many

More information

Kindergarten Grade 4. Key Element I: Knowledge of the Faith

Kindergarten Grade 4. Key Element I: Knowledge of the Faith Key Element I: Knowledge of the Faith Standard 1 CREED: Understand, believe and proclaim the Triune and redeeming God as revealed in creation and human experience, in Apostolic Tradition and Sacred Scripture,

More information

Sacramental Preparation Protocol II, First Penance and First Holy Communion (for the sixth grade or above)

Sacramental Preparation Protocol II, First Penance and First Holy Communion (for the sixth grade or above) Sacramental Preparation Protocol II, First Penance and First Holy Communion (for the sixth grade or above) A Working Instrument of the Subcommittee on the Catechism Approved June 9, 2013 1 PROTOCOL FOR

More information

3. You are only allowed to Receive the Eucharist once a day. 1/1 A True 0/1 B False

3. You are only allowed to Receive the Eucharist once a day. 1/1 A True 0/1 B False Quiz name: Eucharist Quiz Theology (student made) Date: 11/12/2015 Question with Most Correct Answers: #21 Total Questions: 30 Question with Fewest Correct Answers: #20 1. If you only receive the consecrated

More information

HOW TO PRAY THE ROSARY

HOW TO PRAY THE ROSARY HOW TO PRAY THE ROSARY Rosary (2-3) How to pray the Rosary (4-6) Prayers of the Rosary (7-15) Mysteries of the Rosary (16-36) Bible Rosary (37-38) "In the year 1214, the Church received the Rosary in its

More information

PREPARING FOR THE SACRAMENT OF THE HOLY EUCHARIST. Our lady of Sorrows-St. Anthony Parish Hamilton, New Jersey

PREPARING FOR THE SACRAMENT OF THE HOLY EUCHARIST. Our lady of Sorrows-St. Anthony Parish Hamilton, New Jersey PREPARING FOR THE SACRAMENT OF THE HOLY EUCHARIST Our lady of Sorrows-St. Anthony Parish Hamilton, New Jersey 1 Dear Parents and Guardians: We hope this handbook will serve you well in preparing your child

More information

LESSON PLAN: SACRAMENT OF BAPTISM

LESSON PLAN: SACRAMENT OF BAPTISM LESSON PLAN: SACRAMENT OF BAPTISM UNIT TITLE: Bautismo (Spanish for Baptism) LESSON TITLE: The Symbols OUTCOMES: C1.1 - Students compare ideas and experiences of rituals, prayers, words and actions in

More information

The Baptism of our Lord Jesus Christ the first sunday after the epiphany

The Baptism of our Lord Jesus Christ the first sunday after the epiphany Saint Mark s episcopal cathedral The Baptism of our Lord Jesus Christ the first sunday after the epiphany January 7, 2018 8:00 am Saint Mark s episcopal cathedral Newcomers and visitors, the community

More information

MAUNDY THURSDAY - NOTES AND RESOURCES

MAUNDY THURSDAY - NOTES AND RESOURCES INTRODUCTORY REMARKS The service on Maundy Thursday is the first part of the Three Days to Easter (Triduum) celebration. Although communion services in the evening are now commonplace, for many hundreds

More information

The small group leader uses their responses to launch into a discussion about the Communion Rite.

The small group leader uses their responses to launch into a discussion about the Communion Rite. The Communion Rite The small group leader leads participants in a small group discussion. Break into small groups (three or four). Remind participants to make time for all in the group to respond to the

More information

Called by the Holy Spirit. Confirmation calls you to a deeper commitment and involvement in the Church.

Called by the Holy Spirit. Confirmation calls you to a deeper commitment and involvement in the Church. Called by the Holy Spirit 1 Confirmation calls you to a deeper commitment and involvement in the Church. All: Lord, we are being called to grow in our faith, to accept new challenges and resposibilities.

More information

LLC #237 ALTAR SERVER PRAYER DEFINITION OF ALTAR SERVER DRESS CODE ALTAR SERVER RULES. MASS SETUP - Clean-Up After Mass

LLC #237 ALTAR SERVER PRAYER DEFINITION OF ALTAR SERVER DRESS CODE ALTAR SERVER RULES. MASS SETUP - Clean-Up After Mass Guide Altar Server Saint Mary Catholic Church LLC #237 ALTAR SERVER PRAYER DEFINITION OF ALTAR SERVER DRESS CODE ALTAR SERVER RULES MASS SETUP - Clean-Up After Mass ENTRANCE PROCESSION Greeting - Penitential

More information

The Rite of Acceptance / The Rite of Welcoming. Catechumen: A non-baptized individual who has made the decision to be baptized and enter the Church

The Rite of Acceptance / The Rite of Welcoming. Catechumen: A non-baptized individual who has made the decision to be baptized and enter the Church The Rite of Acceptance / The Rite of Welcoming Basic Definitions: Catechumen: A non-baptized individual who has made the decision to be baptized and enter the Church Candidate: Previously baptized individual

More information

Prelude. Welcome. Let us confess our sins against God and our neighbor.

Prelude. Welcome. Let us confess our sins against God and our neighbor. Prelude Welcome Blessed be God: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. And blessed be his kingdom, now and for ever. Amen. Almighty God, to whom all hearts are open, all desires known, and from whom no secrets

More information

Let the children come to me, and do not prevent them; for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these. (Mt 19:14)

Let the children come to me, and do not prevent them; for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these. (Mt 19:14) Let the children come to me, and do not prevent them; for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these. (Mt 19:14) And all this is from God, who has reconciled us to himself through Christ and given

More information

Jesus, Our Lord and Savior

Jesus, Our Lord and Savior Unit 2 Jesus, Our Lord and Savior Begin Say: Name people in your life whom you depend on every day. What do you depend on them for? I depend on my family to support and love me. Read aloud the unit title

More information

Baptism - St Norbert College Parish

Baptism - St Norbert College Parish Baptism - St Norbert College Parish Congratulations! It is our great joy and privilege that you are considering St Norbert College Parish for your child s baptism. A Catholic baptism at St. Norbert College

More information

THE THIRTEENTH SUNDAY AFTER PENTECOST

THE THIRTEENTH SUNDAY AFTER PENTECOST THE THIRTEENTH SUNDAY AFTER PENTECOST September 3, 2017 Worship Focus God s Original Top Ten List The Eighth Commandment: God s Gift of a Good Name CALVARY LUTHERAN CHURCH 9807 CHURCH ROAD DALLAS, TX 75238

More information